

Renovated Clinical Competency Center

Ribbon-Cutting and Donor-Recognition Event – December 8, 2005

The following donors made leadership gifts to the Clinical Competency Center campaign. Thanks to their philanthropic support, the new center is equipped with advanced technology and customized software that puts UB's medical school in a leadership position for clinical skills training.



Left to right, Michael DiGiacomo, Class of 2008, Interim Dean Frederick C. Morin, III, MD, James R. Kanski, MD '60, Genevieve Kanski, EdD '84, Margaret W. Paroski, MD '80, and Peter S. Martin, Dean Morin and Margaret Paroski hold the cut ribbon after James Kanski declares the renovated center officially open.



James R. Kanski. MD '60. and Genevieve W. Kanski. EdD '84. paved the way with a leadership gift early in the campaign.

Special thanks to the following donors:

Leaders in Giving (\$25,000+)

Margaret W. Paroski, MD '80 Mr. Peter S. Martin, Sr, MBA '84 James R. Kanski, MD '60 Genevieve W. Kanski, EdD '84

Named Exam Rooms (\$15,000)

Willard H. Boardman. MD '44 Jennifer L. Cadiz, MD '87 (In memory of Deborah A. White, MD '87 and Christopher J. White '84) John P. Naughton, MD Margaret W. Paroski, MD '80, Jacqueline L. Paroski, MD '49, Paul A. Paroski, DDS '45, Elizabeth P. Barlog, MD '82, Kevin Barlog, MD '82, Olga E. Paroski

Class of 1955 Class of 1960 Class of 1980 Class of 1985 (In memory of Barry Binkowitz, MD '85, Thomas A. Medige, MD '85, Leonard S. Zombeck, MD '85)

Special Gifts (\$15,000)

Michael S. Taxier, MD '75 Mrs. Barbara I. Taxier



Left to right, Elizabeth Maher, MD '85, Lynda M. Stidham, MD '85, and John Coyne, MD '85, stand proudly in front of an exam room named for the Class of 1985 in memory of their fellow classmates. Drs. Maher and Coyne demonstrated extraordinary outreach to their classmates to make a named room possible.

Generous gifts were also received from the following individuals:

\$5,000-\$9,999

Shedrick H. Moore, MD '55 Nancy H. Nielsen, MD '76 Andrew Cappuccino, MD '88 Helen M. Cappuccino, MD '88 Joseph G. Cardamone, MD '65 Mrs. Susan G. Cardamone '65 Joseph M. Quagliana, MD '59

\$2,500-\$4,999

Jared C. Barlow, MD '66 Mrs. Barbara A. Barlow, '64 Nicholas C. Carosella, MD '54 Mrs. Mary E. Carosella Robert L. Malatesta, MD '60 Thomas P. O'Connor. MD '67



Margaret W. Paroski, MD '80, and husband Peter S. Martin, Sr, MBA '84, made giving a family affair. They are pictured in front of a room named for the Paroski and Barlog families.



Carl V. Granger. MD. *left.* and Reid R. Heffner. Jr. PhD. long-standing faculty donors to the medical school.



Ross Eye Institute

Breaks ground and set to open in early 2007

The UB Department of Ophthalmology, The Elizabeth Pierce Olmsted, M.D. Center for the Visually Impaired, and the Lions Clubs of Western New York, held a groundbreaking for the Ira G. Ross Eye Institute on September 30, 2005.

Keynote speakers were Elizabeth Pierce Olmsted, MD '39, then-Buffalo Mayor Anthony Masiello, UB President John Simpson, and Past District Governor Lion Jeff Stribing.

The Ross Eye Institute will be located at 1176 Main Street, within the Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus. It will be the primary teaching facility for the residency program in the Department of Ophthalmology at UB as well as for medical students.

Envisioned as the premier vision research, ophthalmologic education and subspecialty eye-care program in Western New



Celebrating the groundbreaking are, left to right, Lion Jeff Stribing, chair, Vision Beyond Sight; James Reynolds, MD, chair of the UB Department of Ophthalmology and chief executive officer of the Ira G. Ross Eye Institute; Elizabeth Olmsted Ross, MD '39; and Ray O'Keefe.

York, the institute will include a nationally unique state-of-theart campus that will link the university with human services to provide a range of integrated prevention, treatment and rehabilitation services to individuals of all ages in need of vision care.

Estimated date of completion is for the Eye Ross Institute is January 2007.





Grades 5-12, co-educational

1250 Amherst Street Buffalo, N.Y. 14216 716.332.6325 www.nicholsschool.org

Acceptance granted to qualified students without regard to race, color, religion or national origin





Medical Alumni Association Governing Board 2005-2006

President Martin L. Brecher. MD '72

VICE PRESIDENT Martin C. Mahoney, MD '95 PhD '88

TREASURER Helen Cappuccino, MD '88

PAST PRESIDENT Colleen Mattimore. MD '91

Members Edward Kim, MD '99

Sanford H. Levy, MD '86

Charles R. Niles, MD '83

Charles M. Severin, MD '97, PhD

EMERITUS MEMBERS John J. Bodkin II, MD '76

Margaret Paroski, MD '80

REGIONAL MEMBERS Joseph A. Chazan. MD '60 Rhode Island

Max Doubrava, MD '59 Nevada

members: Edward Kim, MD '99, who has new ideas about serving our students, and Margaret Paroski, MD '80, an emeritus member, who brings her broad perspective to our deliberations. I would like to thank Geoffrey Hill, Class of 2008 and former Polity president, and all the Polity students for their contributions to our programs.

Pulitzer Prize winning author Dr. Edward O. Wilson. in the summer issue of Buffalo Physician.

of activities even better.

nected to UB and the MAA.

edu/membership.

participation and support.

Dear Fellow Alumni.

t really is true that the older we get, the more quickly time seems to pass. My term as president of the Medical Alumni Association (MAA) has gone by in a flash. It has been a rewarding experience to work with a terrific group of volunteers who make up the MAA Governing Board and to meet our bright students at various functions.

This year, many positive changes have taken place for the MAA. We welcomed two new board

The Spring Clinical Day/Harrington Lecture Luncheon will feature two-time

We are anticipating that Reunion Weekend will be a great success, with alumni and

their families enjoying the many events we have planned. Be sure to look for coverage of these events

Also, please give us your feedback about ways we can make the new program and the weekend

Congratulations to the Class of 2006! We wish you great success and hope you will stay con-

I encourage all alumni to join or renew their membership in the MAA. Your membership dues serve our students and support our alumni programs. For more details, visit www.alumni.buffalo.

Finally, please join me in welcoming Martin C. Mahoney, MD '95 PhD '88, as he becomes your president for 2006–2007. We look forward to another great year under his leadership with your

Sincerely,

Martin Brecher

Martin L. Brecher. MD '72 President, Medical Alumni Association 2005-2006