Institutional Resources for Pain Medicine Fellowship


To ensure appropriate resource allocation to a single ACGME-accredited Pain Medicine Fellowship

Fellowship training in Pain Medicine requires expertise of physicians and medical personnel from multiple specialties.  The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education restricts institutions to sponsoring only one Pain Management program.  The institution must also ensure the fellowship has adequate resources including, but not limited to, participation of faculty with the required training and expertise to provide educational experiences that comply with program requirements. 

Physicians are eligible to enroll in a Pain Management Fellowship after completing a residency in one of several disciplines.  


The University at Buffalo sponsors a single pain management fellowship program hosted in the Department of Anesthesiology.  Faculty from disciplines other than anesthesiology participates in the training of fellows.  The fellowship program director is authorized to identify training needs and provide all designated faculty with the goals and objectives of training for fellows. 

The University at Buffalo ensures that the fellowship program director is compensated fully for his responsibilities.  Fellow salary and benefits and liability insurance are fully supported by the institution.  Funding is also provided for the training program administrator, faculty teaching time, and non-personnel costs in accordance with formulas applied to all UB-sponsored GME programs. 


The Designated Institutional Official (DIO) and the Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC) monitors educational resources committed to the pain medicine fellowship through the Annual Program Review, the Program Quality Review Subcommittee and the Annual Survey of Residents’ Educational and Clinical Experiences.    The Annual Program Review includes an assessment of adequacy of multidisciplinary faculty participation in the program. 

Established:  2012
GMEC Approved Date:  February 21, 2017