2018 Recipients.

2018 Award Recipients, from left to right: David Abramowitz, Supriya D. Mahajan, Satpal Singh​, Mohamed Sharif, Danielle Abramo-Balling, Moudi Hubeishy, and Megan Wilson-Crowley.

Award of Excellence for Promoting Inclusion and Cultural Diversity

This honorary award acknowledges individuals whose actions, example and efforts contribute to a respectful and supportive environment at the university and in the Western New York community.

A diverse and inclusive campus community enhances excellence in research and academic medicine by broadening and strengthening teaching, learning and scholarship. If you actively work to create a welcoming climate of respect and inclusiveness, you may be a good candidate for the Award of Excellence for Promoting Inclusion and Cultural Diversity.

The awards are presented by the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences' Office of Inclusion and Cultural Enhancement.


Awards are given annually to recipients in each the following categories:

  • medical students or students in the MD/PhD program
  • medical residents
  • doctoral students
  • clinical or basic sciences faculty
  • staff
  • community service award for Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences faculty member

For this award we are specifically looking for a Jacobs School faculty member who goes above and beyond in terms of community outreach in Western New York.

Previous recipients are not eligible for nomination.

All nominees must be a member of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

Senior Associate Deans are not eligible to be nominated for the Faculty Award of Excellence.


Faculty, staff, and students may nominate individuals they feel are deserving of these awards. 


Submit nominations by April 30, 2021.

Award Ceremony

Awards are presented during the medical school’s annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards ceremony following the Stockton Kimball Lecture.

Past Recipients

Contact Information

Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion

Dubocovich, Margarita

Margarita Dubocovich, PhD, FASPET, FACNP

SUNY Distinguished Professor; Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology; Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion

955 Main Street (Room 3212) Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 829-4719/(716) 829-

Email: mdubo@buffalo.edu

Award of Excellence News