Graduation 2005 Biomedical Sciences

The Undergraduate and Graduate Biomedical Sciences Commencement for School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, took place on May 12, 2005, at the Center for the Arts on the North Campus.

This year, 39 PhD, 45 master's and 137 undergraduate candidates were eligible for degrees.

The commencement address was delivered by Bettie Sue Siler Masters, PhD, The Robert A. Welch Foundation Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Biochemistry, The University of Texas Health Sciences Center at San Antonio. Degrees were conferred by UB President John B. Simpson, PhD.

Candidates completed work in the following School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences' departments or programs: biochemistry, biochemical pharmacology, biotechnical and clinical laboratory sciences, microbiology and immunology, neuroscience, nuclear medicine technology, medical technology, pathology and anatomical sciences, pharmacology and toxicology, physiology and biophysics, biomedical sciences, structural biology. Also included were the Roswell Park Cancer Institute Graduate Division programs in Cancer Pathology and Prevention, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Cellular and Molecular Biophysics, Immunology, Molecular Pharmacology and Cancer Therapeutics and Natural Sciences.







(1) Proud graduate Kristin Furano, PhD; (2) Mirna Martinez, MS, being hooded by Mulchand Patel, PhD, associate dean for biomedical research and education, *left*, and Paul Kostyniak, PhD, chair of the Department of Biotechnical Clinical Laboratory Sciences, *right*; (3) Jeremy David Bartos, PhD, being presented the Dean's Award for dissertation research by Suzanne Laychock, PhD, senior associate dean for research and biomedical education; (4) Amy Gryshuk, PhD, recieving an award from Suzanne Laychock, PhD, and Alan Oseroff, MD, PhD, professor and chair of dermatology; (5) Sujata Sofat, BS, being presented an award by Mary Anne Rokitka, PhD, associate dean for biomedical undergraduate education; (6) Royston Ogbuagu, BS, with his family; (7) Ke Zu, PhD, being congratulated by Frederic C. Morin III, MD, interim dean for the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and interim vice president for health sciences.







