University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Student, Faculty and Alumni Highlights

Awardees and attendees of the 2016 University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence

Eight faculty and one staff member from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for notable achievement and service at the 13th annual University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence. 

Michael H. Farkas, PhD

Michael H. Farkas, PhD, who joined the Department of Ophthalmology as an assistant professor in July, has been named a 2016 Emerging Vision Scientist by the National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (NAEVR).


Nicholas J. Silvestri, MD, program director of the University at Buffalo’s adult neurology residency, and Emily Caldarelli, training program administrator for the hematology and oncology fellowship, have received UB Graduate Medical Education (GME) Awards of Excellence.

Vinny Polsinelli

Vinny Polsinelli — who first began conducting research in Haiti following his first year of medical school — was one of only 11 students nationwide selected for a 2016-17 fellowship from the Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation.

Dan Kuhr

Two UB medical students are participating in a prestigious yearlong residential program at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) campus in Bethesda, Maryland, that introduces students to innovative research in areas matching their career interests and goals.


Trainees and faculty alike were honored at the 28th annual Department of Medicine Internal Medicine Residency Graduation Dinner.

Jennifer A. Surtees, PhD

Jennifer A. Surtees, PhD, associate professor of biochemistry, has been selected by her peers to join the editorial board of the scientific journal Genetics.


A medical student and fellows in cardiovascular medicine, hematology-oncology and pediatric endocrinology-diabetes have received a trio of prestigious school awards.

Satyan Lakshminrusimha, MD

Satyan Lakshminrusimha, MD, has received the 2016 Mentor of the Year award from the Eastern Society for Pediatric Research (ESPR) in recognition of his excellence in developing trainees’ research skills and launching productive research careers.


G. Richard Braen, MD, associate dean for graduate medical education, has received the 2016 National Leadership Award from the New York State chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Christine Robertson and Jessica LaPiano

First-year medical students Jessica LaPiano and Christine Robertson have been awarded $30,000 annual tuition scholarships for their education in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.


Three students in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were honored for outstanding achievements at the University at Buffalo’s 2016 Celebration of Student Academic Excellence.

 John J. Leddy and patient

John J. Leddy, MD, clinical professor of orthopaedics, has received the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine’s (AMSSM) Best Overall Research Award for determining predictors of recovery from concussion in adolescents.


Vasvi Singh, MD, a first-year trainee in the cardiovascular disease fellowship, won the “Best Fellow in Training” poster award for her presentation at this year’s Scientific Sessions of the American College of Cardiology.


A pioneering researcher and others who have made significant contributions to their fields and to the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were honored with 2016 Faculty-Staff Recognition Awards.