Vincent J. Capraro, MD Award

This award is given to a PGY-4 resident in recognition of academic and clinical excellence.


PGY-4 resident


A plaque and $500.

Selection Process

Awardee is selected by a panel of OB-GYN faculty.


Awardee is notified at the annual OB-GYN resident graduation banquet.


Awardee is recognized at the annual OB-GYN resident graduation banquet.

Contact for More Information

OB-GYN Resident Education Office

Phone: (716) 878-7870

Vincent J. Capraro, MD

Following medical school, Vincent J. Capraro, MD ’45, served as a commanding officer in the Medical Corps and then held positions at several local hospitals, including Sisters of Charity Hospital, E.J. Meyer Memorial Hospital, Millard Fillmore Hospital and Buffalo State Hospital. Dr. Capraro was a world-renowned authority on pediatric gynecology and held appointments at UB throughout his career. He was the head of what was at one time the only post-residency program in adolescent and pediatric gynecology in the country. The medical class of 1945 established this lectureship fund in honor of Dr. Capraro on the occasion of its 45th reunion.

Past Recipients

  • J’Leise Sosa (2016)
  • Ryan Schlueter (2015)
  • Angelle Brebnor (2014)
  • Sarah Crimmins (2013)
  • Beman Khulpateea (2012)
  • Arminda Mauricio (2011)
  • Nita Thapa (2010)
  • Oluseyi Ogunleye (2009)
  • Nezhat Solimani (2008)
  • Peter Frederick (2007)
  • Magda Gamal Osman (2006)
  • Alexander Olawaiye (2005)
  • Mohamed Mitwally (2004)
  • Abeer Eddib (2003)
  • Moshood Olatinwo (2002)
  • Julie Szumigala (2001)
  • Gayatri Kapur (1996)
  • August Bruno (1995)
  • Samuel Parry (1994)
  • Philip Lauria (1993)
  • Jeffrey Puretz (1992)
  • Pedro Alvarez (1991)