Wayne Johnson, MD Award

This award is given to a PGY-3 resident in recognition of outstanding clinical performance in the care of the maternal and fetal patient.


PGY-3 resident


A plaque and $250.

Selection Process

Awardee is selected by a panel of OB-GYN faculty.


Awardee is notified at the annual OB-GYN resident graduation banquet.


Awardee is recognized at the annual OB-GYN resident graduation banquet.

Contact for More Information

OB-GYN Resident Education Office

Phone: (716) 878-7870

Wayne Johnson, MD

Wayne Johnson, MD, was professor and chairman of the Department of Gynecology-Obstetrics until 1979. He started the fellowship program in the Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine and established one of the first regional perinatal centers in the United States at Women & Children’s Hospital of Buffalo.

Past Recipients

  • Anna Trikhacheva (2016)
  • Nagammai Nagappan (2015)
  • Ryan Schlueter (2014)
  • Jamie Szczepanski (2013)
  • Rayme Shore (2013)
  • Sarah Crimmins (2012)
  • Beman Khulpateea (2011)
  • Christian Dolensek (2010)
  • Baraa Allaf (2009)
  • Oluseyi Ogunleye (2008)
  • Maria Teresa Benitez (2007)
  • Lisa Ann Gelman-Koessler (2006)
  • George Figueroa (2005)
  • Wei Zhang (2004)