Award of Excellence for Promoting Inclusion and Cultural Diversity

This honorary award acknowledges individuals whose actions, example and efforts contribute to a respectful and supportive environment at the university and in the Western New York community.

About this Award

A diverse and inclusive campus community enhances excellence in research and academic medicine by broadening and strengthening teaching, learning and scholarship. If you actively work to create a welcoming climate of respect and inclusiveness, you may be a good candidate for the Award of Excellence for Promoting Inclusion and Cultural Diversity.

The awards are presented by the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences’ Office of Inclusion and Cultural Enhancement.

2024 Awardees

Congratulations at each and one of our 2024 Award of Excellence Awardees. Your dedication and efforts do make the difference in our learning environment!

Narayan Dhimal, PhD.

Narayan Dhimal, PhD,  Post-Doctoral Associate Award

Graduate Student Award.

Emily Isenhart, Graduate Student Award

Catherine Lawton, MD 26.

Catherine Lawton, Medical Student Award

Daniel Olutalabi, MD.

Daniel Olutalabi, MD, Resident Award

Daniel LaRosa.

Daniel LaRosa, Staff Award

Iris Danziger, MD.

Iris Danziger, MD, Faculty Award

Jamal Williams, PhD.

Jamal Williams, PhD, Community Service Award

Award Ceremony

Awards are presented during the Jacobs School’s annual Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards ceremony following the Stockton Kimball Lecture 


Awards are given annually to recipients in each the following categories:

  • Medical (MD or MD/PhD) Students
  • Medical residents
  • Graduate (PhD or MS) Students
  • Post-Doctoral Associates
  • Clinical or basic sciences faculty
  • Staff
  • Community Service Award for Jacobs School Faculty*
    *For faculty members in the Jacobs School who have made significant contributions to support inclusion, diversity, equity and social justice in Western New York.

Previous recipients are not eligible for nomination.

Self nominations are not acceptable.

Senior associate deans and department chairs are not eligible.

All nominees must be a member of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.


Faculty, residents, students and staff at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences may nominate individuals deserving of these awards.


Nominations are now closed. Come back in 2025

Submit your Nomination





Nomination Justification

Briefly summarize the nominees contribution to excellence enhancing diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Prior Recipients


For questions about this award please contact