John Naughton Contemporary Medicine Award

John P. Naughton, MD

John Naughton, MD.

John P. Naughton, MD, an internationally recognized cardiologist, was dean of the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences for 21 years and vice president for clinical affairs for 12 years. During his time as dean, Naughton actively supported Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society. This award — established by UB’s AOA Advisory Committee — commemorates Naughton's support of AOA and his commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism and service to the art of healing.

This annual award recognizes significant contributions by medical students to the medical school or the community.

Students receive the John Naughton award for going above and beyond their academic responsibilities by engaging in activities, projects and endeavors that bolster medical education or contribute to the betterment of the medical school or the community.

Past recipients received the award for contributions including:

  • developing a student manual identifying and encouraging academic and professional behaviors that contribute to success in medical school
  • helping medical students better understand the needs of medically underserved patient populations

UB’s chapter of the national Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society presents the award.

Award Amount

Up to $150


Any medical student may be nominated.

Nomination Process

Faculty members and medical students may submit nominees for the award.


Submit nominations by Feb. 1.


Nominations must include:

  • medical student’s name and program year
  • a description of how the nominee has bolstered medical education or contributed to the betterment of the medical school or community
  • impact of the nominee's contribution 
  • the individuals or groups affected by the nominee's actions or project

Selecting Awardees

UB’s AOA Advisory Committee evaluates each nominee and selects awardees based on the nominee’s contribution to the school or community.

Award Presentation

We will announce the awardee at UB’s annual AOA induction ceremony.

Contact Information

If you have questions about the John Naughton Contemporary Medicine Award, please contact:

UB Epsilon New York AOA Chapter Councilor

Frank T. Schimpfhauser, PhD.

Frank T. Schimpfhauser, PhD

Associate Dean for Educational Evaluation and Research;

Office of Medical Curriculum

Office of Medical Curriclum, Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, 955 Main Street, Room 7164

Phone: (716) 479-1398