Siegel Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Published July 20, 2010 This content is archived.


The Louis A. and Ruth Siegel Awards for Excellence in Teaching are the foremost means for recognizing extraordinary teachers in the school.

A student award committee composed of representatives from each medical class reviews nominations provided by students and selects awardees in four categories.

The 2010 Siegel Award recipients are:

Full-Time Teaching in the Basic Sciences
Thomas Mahl, MD

Full-Time Teaching in the Clinical Sciences
Kenneth Kahn, MD

Volunteer Physician
Daryl Ehlenfield, MD

Resident Teaching
Ivan Dominguez, MD

Stockton-Kimball Award

Our school’s annual Stockton Kimball Award honors a faculty member for academic accomplishments and worldwide recognition as a researcher.

Paul R. Knight III, MD/PhD, professor of anesthesiology and microbiology and immunology, is the 2010 recipient of the award.

Knight’s research expertise is on the pathogenesis of aspiration pneumonitis and the role of anesthetic agents in inflammation and infection. He has published over 150 articles, books and chapters, and has made over 60 presentations at national and international venues. He also edited the current Seventh Edition of Wylie and Churchill-Davidson's A Practice of Anesthesia, the leading international medical text on the medical specialty of anesthesiology.

In recognition of his accomplishments he has been continually funded since 1980 by National Institutes of Health (NIH), American Heart Association grants or other sources.

Knight also is director of the Medical Scientist Training (MD/PhD) Program in the school. He has trained more than 100 graduate students, fellows and junior faculty, and mentored many undergraduate students in research.