Psychiatry Department Receives National Teichner Award

Published October 9, 2013 This content is archived.

The Department of Psychiatry has received a national award for its faculty’s demonstrated commitment to training in psychodynamic psychotherapy.

The Victor J. Teichner Award funds a departmental visit by Deborah Cabaniss, MD, director of psychotherapy training at Columbia University.

The Victor J. Teichner Award, given by the American Academy of Psychoanalysis and Dynamic Psychiatry in conjunction with the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training, will fund a departmental visit by Deborah Cabaniss, MD, director of psychotherapy training at Columbia University, from Oct. 16-18.

Visiting Scholar to Discuss Centrality of Formulation

During her visit, Cabaniss will meet with faculty, residents and medical students.

She will present a talk titled “The Centrality of Formulation” at 8 a.m. Oct. 18, during grand rounds at the Buffalo Psychiatric Center.

Wrote Influential Clinical Manual

Cabaniss is the lead author of “Psychodynamic Psychotherapy,” the clinical manual used by residency training programs across the country. Her new book, “Psychodynamic Formulation,” was released earlier this year.

Cabaniss directs the Virginia Apgar Academy of Medical Educators at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons and is a training and supervising analyst at the university’s Center for Training and Research.

Her research interests primarily involve psychoanalytic and psychiatric education.

UB Psychiatry Joins Prestigious Group of Awardees

The UB psychiatry department was selected for the 2013 Teichner award from more than a dozen applicants.

Previous awardees include Vanderbilt University, University of California at Los Angeles, Indiana University, University of New Mexico and University of Kentucky.

The award is named for the innovative psychoanalyst, public sector psychiatrist and educator who served as the academy’s president before his death in 1983.