Tomaszewski Joins Fliesler on Distinguished Academy Board

Published July 21, 2021

story by bill bruton

The two Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences faculty members are the lone UB representatives on the board.


Internationally Renowned in Their Fields

John E. Tomaszewski, MD

Tomaszewski, SUNY Distinguished Professor and the Peter A. Nickerson, PhD, Professor and Chair of pathology and anatomical sciences, was named a SUNY Distinguished Professor in 2017. Tomaszewski is internationally renowned for his research in pathology and prognostic factors in cancer and the development of quantitative image analysis tools used in digital pathology and automated cancer diagnostics. His term on the board runs through 2024.

Steven J. Fliesler, PhD

Fliesler, SUNY Distinguished Professor and the Meyer H. Riwchun Endowed Chair Professor of ophthalmology, was named a SUNY Distinguished Professor in 2018. An internationally renowned vision scientist, Fliesler is considered the world’s leading expert on cholesterol metabolism in the retina. He was named to the board in 2020, and his term runs through 2023.