John P. Naughton, MD, Award

The John P. Naughton, MD, Award recognizes outstanding staff members. They are often among the “unsung heroes” of the school’s evolution and forward movement, individuals who contribute significantly to the advancement of the school and to the fulfillment of its mission.

As part of our efforts to highlight outstanding contributors at the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, it is important that we recognize the significant impact our exceptional staff have on furthering our mission and vision. 

Namesake of the Award

John P. Naughton.

John P. Naughton, MD, an internationally recognized cardiologist, was dean of the medical school for 21 years and vice president for clinical affairs for 12 years.

During his time as dean, Naughton actively supported Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society. This award — established by UB’s AOA Advisory Committee — commemorates Naughton’s support of AOA and his commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism and service to the art of healing. He established the award in 1999.


The awardee can be nominated by staff members, including employees supported by the state, SUNY Research foundation and UB Foundation.

Nominees should have provided significant contributions to the department and/or school and have exceeded expectations in performance of their work. 

Nominators must provide:

  • nominee’s name and contact information
  • nominee’s department or office
  • brief description of nominee’s qualifications

Award Criteria and Selection

A selection committee will choose an awardee based on:

  • significant contributions
  • concern for and contributions to the progress of UB and the school
  • excellence in its broadest sense


May 1 of each year

Submissions and Contact

Submit nominations to:

Laychock, Suzanne

Suzanne Laychock, PhD

Professor and Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences room 3202 955 Main Street Buffalo, NY 14203-1121

Phone: (716) 829-2808; Fax: (716) 829-2437



  • 2023 Glenn K. Laderer
  • 2022 Mark Schneggenburger
  • 2021 Sofia Tangalos
  • 2020 Dawn Rowland
  • 2019 Tanya Biscardi
  • 2018 Elizabeth O’Brocta
  • 2017 Marsha Barber
  • 2017 Anne Coe
  • 2016 Deborah Kelsch
  • 2015 Elaine Taylor
  • 2014 James Rosso
  • 2013 Andrew Koenig
  • 2012 Eva Tamoga
  • 2011 Valerie Kennedy
  • 2010 Mary Anne Rokitka
  • 2009 Stephanie A. Unger
  • 2008 George Anderson
  • 2007 Christina H. Ehret
  • 2006 Barbara D. Mierzwa
  • 2005 James J. Mecca, Jr.
  • 2004 Nancy L. Cronk
  • 2003 Liz A. Hayden
  • 2002 Bernice A. Lavin
  • 2001 Donna M. Ball
  • 2001 Cheryl A. Kishbaugh
  • 2000 Nancy J. Druar

Naughton Award News