michael cain, jean wactawski-wende, suzanne laychock.

Noted epidemiologist Jean Wactawski-Wende, PhD (center), receives the 2013 Stockton Kimball Award from Michael E. Cain, MD (left), and Suzanne Laychock, PhD.

School of Medicine Celebrates Outstanding Contributions

Published June 11, 2013 This content is archived.

Story by Suzanne Kashuba

The School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences celebrated outstanding research, service and teaching achievements during its 2013 Faculty/Staff Recognition Awards event June 5.

Dean Michael E. Cain lauded Margarita Dubocovich, PhD, for her “tireless efforts” to implement transformational change and advance the school’s mission.

The following awards were presented:

2013 Stockton Kimball Award

  • Jean Wactawski-Wende, PhD
    professor and associate chair of social and preventive medicine
    UB vice provost for strategic initiatives

Elected to membership in the American Epidemiological Society, Wactawski-Wende is a noted researcher of women’s health issues. For 20 years, she has helped to lead UB’s key role in the landmark Women’s Health Initiative clinical trial and observation study.

She also has worked to create critical cross-discipline initiatives to help UB achieve its strategic goals.

She will deliver the Stockton Kimball Lecture in 2014.

About the Award

The award and lecture recognize an outstanding scholar and researcher who has also contributed significantly to the school. It is named in memory of Stockton Kimball, MD ’29, dean of the medical school from 1946 to 1958.

Dean’s Award

In presenting this award, Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean Michael E. Cain, MD, described Dubocovich as “a champion and a remarkable advocate for inclusion and cultural enhancement,” while also praising her leadership as a department head.

Cain lauded Dubocovich for her “tireless efforts” to implement transformational change and advance the school’s mission.

About the Award

This award recognizes an individual who has provided extraordinary service to the school and has gone above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference.

John P. Naughton Award

  • Andrew P. Koenig
    local area network analyst
    associate facilities manager

This 30-plus year employee provides expert guidance and assistance, overseeing networking and various technology services.

He also is playing an integral role in the planning process for the school’s new state-of-the-art building in downtown Buffalo.

About the Award

Named for a former medical school dean, this award recognizes outstanding staff members or volunteers who contribute significantly to the advancement of the medical school and its mission.

Robert S. Berkson, MD Memorial Award

This award recognizes Graham’s outstanding patient care and volunteer teaching.

Graham is an “invaluable member of our faculty” who has played an integral role in the coronary care unit, notes Anne B. Curtis, Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and chair of medicine.

About the Award

This award is named for a Buffalo internist and medical school alumnus who was actively involved in teaching medical students and residents.

2013 Awards of Excellence for Promoting Inclusion and Cultural Diversity

Faculty Award

  • Rajendram V. Rajnarayanan, PhD
    assistant professor of pharmacology and toxicology

Rajnarayanan has created pipelines and obtained support allowing underrepresented science students to participate in numerous biomedical research opportunities at UB. 

He is the associate director of UB’s CLIMB program and directs his department’s undergraduate research and summer programs.

He also is a leader in UB’s iSEED (Institute for the Strategic Enhancement of Educational Diversity).

In addition, he has worked to enhance the medical school’s recruitment efforts and is developing a Web-based data-collection tool to help measure their effectiveness.

Medical Student Award

This award recognizes all former and current medical students who have helped operate and manage this drop-in clinic on Buffalo’s East Side.

David Lloyd and Tonya Lemonious, two of the clinic’s managers, accepted the award on behalf of all awardees.

Graduate Student Award

  • Jay Garaycochea
    fourth-year PhD student in UB’s Neuroscience Program

Garaycochea is a CLIMB scholar and frequent contributor to department, program and school activities. He also serves as a peer mentor for CLIMB UP, facilitating ‘how-to’ poster and presentation workshops for participating undergraduate students.

In addition, Garaycochea represents UB at national conferences to recruit underrepresented students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields, particularly in biomedical research.

Special Recognition Award

  • Barbara Burke
    senior advisor and past interim director,
    UB Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Burke played a key role in developing the medical school’s new Office of Inclusion and Cultural Enhancement.

She was lauded for her “extraordinary contributions, vision and valuable expertise” towards increasing diversity and inclusion in the school.

About the Awards

Presented for the first time in 2013, these awards recognize exemplary work to create a welcoming climate of respect and inclusiveness for all in the medical school, at UB and in Western New York communities.

Service Awards

40 Years

30 Years

Siegel Awardees Also Recognized

Also recognized were winners of the 2013 Louis A. and Ruth Siegel Awards for Excellence in Teaching.