Ozcan Wins 2013 Brody Award for Atrial Fibrillation Research

Cevher Ozcan.

Cevher Ozcan, MD, has conducted award-winning research that provides a framework to develop novel therapies for a serious heart rhythm disease.

Published June 7, 2013 This content is archived.

Story by Alexandra Edelblute

Studying Novel Therapeutic Targets

Ozcan was selected as the 2013 awardee for her study titled “Mitochondrial Mechanisms and Novel Therapeutic Targets in Atrial Fibrillation.”

This award recognizes a junior research scientist for the best basic science research that seeks to solve a clinical problem. Ozcan’s research provides a framework and an opportunity to develop novel therapies for atrial fibrillation (AF), the most common heart rhythm disease, which is associated with high morbidity and mortality.

In current practice, there is no effective strategy to prevent AF since the molecular mechanisms are not known. Although various treatment options have been developed over the years, none have been found optimal for managing AF.

In this study, Ozcan investigates the role of mitochondria in the mechanisms of AF and defines novel mitochondrial targets for prevention and treatment.

She presented a poster of her research and accepted the Brody award on Saturday, May 18, at the medical school's Spring Clinical Day.


Authority in the Field of Cardiac Electrophysiology

As an academic cardiac electrophysiologist, Ozcan is actively involved in patient care, innovative research and education related to heart rhythm diseases.

Her research, which has been published in The New England Journal of Medicine and other journals, focuses on investigating mechanisms and treatment of heart rhythm disturbances, including pharmacological and non-pharmacological treatments for atrial fibrillation, sudden cardiac arrest with ventricular arrhythmias and implantable device therapies.

Honoring the Legacy of Harold Brody, MD ’61

This award honors the legacy of Harold Brody, MD ’61, PhD, a strong advocate of translational research.

Brody was a SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor, longtime chair of the Department of Anatomy and an active member of the Medical Emeritus Faculty Society.