Internal Medicine Faculty, Trainees Honored at Graduation Dinner

Published August 16, 2016 This content is archived.

story by dirk hoffman

Trainees and faculty alike were honored at the 28th annual Department of Medicine Internal Medicine Residency Graduation Dinner.


Important Milestone for Graduating Residents

The program graduated 33 residents and celebrated their accomplishments at a dinner held June 16 at Statler City.

“Our annual residency graduation dinner is an exciting event and an important milestone for our graduating residents,” says Anne B. Curtis, MD, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and chair of medicine.

“After three years of intense training, they have become competent and well-trained internists ready for independent practice or subspecialty fellowship training,” she says.

Pair Lauded for Mentoring, Teaching Hospital Medicine

Several faculty members were also honored with awards at the dinner.

Assistant professors Heidi M. Beintrexler, MD, and Dzenita G. Manning, MD, were honored with the F. Carter Pannill, MD, Faculty Award, given to junior faculty members with up to five years of experience who have demonstrated a high degree of excellence in a commitment to the bedside teaching of students and residents.

Honorees are seen as exemplifying the qualities that characterized the career of Pannill, a former UB vice president for health affairs, acting dean and professor of medicine, who died in 2012.

Beintrexler, who is based at Erie County Medical Center (ECMC), and Manning, who works out of Buffalo General Medical Center (BGMC), were specifically cited for their commitment to teaching and mentoring residents in hospital medicine, according to Christopher P. Schaeffer, MD, assistant professor of medicine and internal medicine residency program director.

“The associate program directors reviewed the evaluations of all faculty and found theirs to be superior,” he said.

ECMC and BGMC are two of the many affiliated teaching hospitals of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Stewart Chosen to Receive Multiple Awards

Scott H. Stewart, MD, associate professor, was chosen by the five chief residents of internal medicine for the White Coat Award. 

The award represents the faculty member the residents felt was their best teacher during the past year. 

Stewart also received the Steven H. Noyes, MD, Faculty Award, nominated by fellow faculty for “dedication to medical education and unique ability to motivate all to be better learners, physicians and colleagues.”

In speaking about Stewart, Roberto O. Diaz Del Carpio, MD, clinical assistant professor, said that his constant encouragement of research and improvement in general medicine was a great inspiration.