Faculty and staff — pictured with UB President Satish K. Tripathi (far right) and Provost Charles F. Zukoski (far left) — were recognized at an Oct. 20 celebration in Slee Hall.

9 Medical School Awardees Honored for Excellence

Published October 26, 2016 This content is archived.

story by alexandra edelblute

Eight faculty and one staff member from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for notable achievement and service at the 13th annual University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence


Faculty Recognized for Scholarship, Teaching

SUNY Distinguished Ranks

This highest State University of New York rank recognizes exceptional faculty merit and outstanding academic contributions.

Anne B. Curtis, MD.

Anne B. Curtis, MD
SUNY Distinguished Professor; Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and chair of medicine

Reid R. Heffner Jr., MD.

Reid R. Heffner Jr., MD
SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor of pathology and anatomical sciences

Mark J. Lema, MD, PhD ‘78.

Mark J. Lema, MD, PhD ’78
SUNY Distinguished Service Professor and chair of anesthesiology

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

This award honors faculty members who make extraordinary contributions to their fields.

Jeffrey M. Lackner, PsyD.

UB Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award

This award recognizes faculty members who have demonstrated outstanding and sustained support and development of graduate students from course completion through research and subsequent career placement.

Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD.

Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Professor and chair of pharmacology and toxicology; senior associate dean for inclusion and cultural enhancement

Mark R. O‘Brian, PhD.

Mark R. O’Brian, PhD
Professor and chair of biochemistry

UB Exceptional Scholars — Sustained Achievement Award

This honor recognizes unprecedented accomplishment and a distinguishing body of work with enduring importance.

M. Laura Feltri, MD.
Brahm H. Segal, MD.

Staff Member Honored for Service

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service

Elizabeth Harding.

Elizabeth R. Harding
Executive director of resource management in the Department of Medicine