18 Medical School Awardees Honored for Excellence

Published October 27, 2022

By Dirk Hoffman

Fifteen faculty members and three staff members from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for notable achievements and service at the 19th annual University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence


Faculty Honored for Scholarship, Teaching

SUNY Distinguished Ranks

This highest State University of New York rank recognizes exceptional faculty merit and outstanding academic contributions.

Marianthi Markatou, PhD.

Marianthi Markatou, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Professor of biostatistics in the School of Public Health and Health Professions and assistant director of the Institute for Healthcare Informatics in the Jacobs School

Steven D. Schwaitzberg, MD.

Steven D. Schwaitzberg, MD
SUNY Distinguished Service Professor and chair of surgery

Gil I. Wolfe, MD.

Gil I. Wolfe, MD
SUNY Distinguished Professor and Irvin and Rosemary Smith Chair of neurology

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

This award honors faculty members who make extraordinary contributions to their fields.

Adnan Siddiqui, MD, PhD.
Robert Zivadniov, MD, PhD.

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

This award honors those who consistently demonstrate superb teaching at the undergraduate, graduate or professional level.

Mark O’Brien, PhD.

Mark R. O’Brian, PhD
Professor and chair of biochemistry

UB Distinguished Postdoc Mentor Award

Established by the Office of Postdoctoral Scholars in 2009, this award is presented to faculty members who excel in the mentoring of postdoctoral scholars. A good mentor not only teaches their mentees but also serves as an advocate, adviser and positive role model during the period of direct training and most often, in the following years.

Steven J. Fliesler, PhD.

Steven J. Fliesler, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Professor and the Meyer H. Riwchun Endowed Chair Professor of ophthalmology

UB Exceptional Scholars — Sustained Achievement Award

This honor recognizes unprecedented accomplishment and a distinguishing body of work with enduring importance.

Ralph H. Benedict, PhD.
Michal Stachowiak, PhD.
Mark Sutton, PhD.

UB President Emeritus and Mrs. Meyerson Award for Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring Award

Stewart Clark, PhD.

National Research Council Prestigious Awards

American Psychological Association Fellow

Founded in 1892, the American Psychological Association is the leading U.S.-based scientific and professional organization for promoting psychological science and knowledge to benefit society and improve lives. Fellows are APA members who have made outstanding contributions in the field of psychology.

Jeffrey M. Lackner, PsyD.

Association for Psychological Science Fellow

The Association for Psychological Science is home to thousands of leading psychological science researchers, practitioners, teachers, and students around the world. Fellows have made enduring contributions to the science of psychology through research, teaching, service, and/or application. 

Jeffrey M. Lackner, PsyD.

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology

The Julius Axelrod Award in Pharmacology was established in 1991 to recognize pharmacologists who, like the award’s namesake, have made significant contributions to understanding the biochemical mechanisms underlying the pharmacological actions of drugs and who have demonstrated mentorship to other pharmacologists.

Margarita Dubocvich, PhD.

Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Professor of pharmacology and toxicology and senior associate dean for diversity and inclusion

Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine Best Paper Award

Founded in 1903, the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine promotes investigation in the biomedical sciences by encouraging and facilitating interchange of scientific information among disciplines. The Best Paper Award recognizes the best paper published each year in the society’s journal, Experimental Biology and Medicine. 

Jian Feng, PhD.
Malcolm Slaughter, PhD.

Key Staff Members Honored for Service

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service

Elaine C. Taylor.

Elaine C. Taylor
Residency Program Coordinator
Department of Ophthalmology

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service

This award honors members of the professional staff whose extraordinary service contributions have significantly enriched the university.

Sofia A. Tangalos.

Sofia A. Tangalos
Senior staff assistant for the senior associate and associate deans in the Office of Faculty Affairs

Elizabeth A. White.

Elizabeth A. White
Administrative director for research and graduate education in the Office of Research and Graduate Education

The Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence took place Oct. 27 in Slee Hall on UB’s North Campus.