Our faculty-scientists engage graduate and doctoral students in cutting-edge research across diverse disciplines, directing approximately $20 million in research funding annually.

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Caroline Bass, PhD
Associate Professor

Bogdan Beirowski, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
Principal Investigator at the Hunter James Kelly Research Institute

Michael Buck, PhD
Professor and Director Genetics, Genomics and Bioinformatics

Terry Connell, PhD
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Adjunct Professor of Oral Biology

Margaret DeAngelis
Professor Department of Ophthalmology

Arthur Edelman, PhD
Associate Professor

M. Laura Feltri, MD
Professor of Biochemistry and Neurology

Lee Ann Garrett-Sinha, PhD

Michael Garrick, PhD

Marc Halfon, PhD

Taosheng Huang, MD, Ph.D.
Professor and Division Chief, Genetics

James Jarvis, MD
Clinical Professor

Thomas Melendy, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology & Immunology, and Biochemistry

Xiuqian Mu, MD, PhD
Associate Professor

Norma Nowak, PhD

Mark O‘Brian, PhD
Professor and Chair

Pablo Paez, PhD
Associate Professor

Yungki Park, PhD
Associate Professor

Laurie Read, PhD

Stanley Schwartz, MD, PhD
UB Distinguished Professor, Medicine and Pediatrics; Division Chief, Allergy-Immunology-Rheumatology

Fraser Sim, PhD
Associate Professor; Neuroscience Program Director

Animesh Sinha, MD, PhD
Professor of Dermatology

Satrajit Sinha, PhD

Edward Snell

Michal Stachowiak, PhD
Professor, Director Molec. and Structural Neurobiol. Gene Therapy Prog. Director Stem Cell SCEF

Yijun Sun, PhD
Associate Professor of Bioinformatics

Jennifer Surtees, PhD
Associate Professor

Mark Sutton, PhD

Kinga Szigeti, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Director of the Alzheimer‘s Disease and Memory Disorders Center

Mary Taub, PhD

Gil Wolfe, MD, FAAN
Professor and Chairman; Irvin and Rosemary Smith Chair of Neurology; Univ. at Buffalo Distinguished Professor; Chief of Service for Neurology

Lawrence Wrabetz, MD
Director, Hunter James Kelly Research Institute; Professor of Neurology and Biochemistry

Rabi Yacoub, MD
Assistant Professor

Jesse Slone, PhD
Research Assistant Professor & Principal Research Scientist, Department of Pediatrics

Maria Tsompana, PhD
Research Assistant Professor & Senior Research Scientist, Departments of Biochemistry, Medicine

Donald Yergeau, PhD
Associate Director of Genomic Technologies, University at Buffalo Genomics and Bioinformatics Core

College of Arts and Sciences

Paul Cullen, PhD
Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

Denise Ferkey, PhD
Associate Professor and Associate Chair

Shermali Gunawardena, PhD
Associate Professor

Omer Gokcumen, PhD
Associate Professor

Jae Lee, PhD

Soo-Kyung Lee, PhD
Empire Innovation Professor; Om P. Bahl Endowed Professor

Vincent J. Lynch, PhD
Assistant Professor

Gail M. Seigel, PhD
Research Associate Professor

Wenjun Zheng, PhD

School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Stylianos Andreadis, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Professor and
Director, Stem Cells in Regenerative Medicine (SCiRM) Training Program

Sheldon Park, PhD
Associate Professor

Edward Snell, PhD
Professor; Director of BioXFEL;
Senior Scientist, CEO of Hauptman-Woodward Medical Institute

Aidong Zhang, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Professor

School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Javier G. Blanco, PhD

Jun Qu, PhD

Brian T. Tsuji, PharmD
Professor and Associate Dean, Clinical and Translational Sciences

School of Public Health and Health Professions

Jo L. Freudenheim, PhD 
Chair and UB Distinguished Professor

Rachael Hageman Blair, PhD
Associate Professor

Chang-Xing Ma, PhD
Associate Professor, Co-Director, MPH Biostatistics Concentration

Jeffrey Miecznikowski, PhD
Associate Professor

Heather Ochs-Balcom
Associate Professor; 
Director of Graduate Studies, MPH Program;
Director, MPH Concentration in Epidemiology

Xuefeng Ren, MD, PhD
Associate Professor and Director, MPH Concentration in Environmental Health

Jean Wactawski-Wende, PhD
Dean and SUNY Distinguished Professor

Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

AnneMarie Block, PhD, FACMG
Associate Professor 

Peter Demant, MD, PhD

Kevin Eng, PhD
Associate Professor

Irwin Gelman, PhD
Director of Research Integration and Distinguished Professor

Michael Higgins, PhD
Associate Professor

Tao Liu, PhD
Assistant Professor

Kent Nastiuk, PhD
Assistant Professor

Y. Eugene Yu, PhD

Jianmin Zhang, PhD
Associate Professor