University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of Faculty Council includes representatives from both basic science and clinical departments. The Steering Committee represents, and acts on behalf of the Faculty Council in all matters within the purview of the Faculty Council.

All actions of the Steering Committee are subject to prior or subsequent approval of the Faculty Council.  

Powers and Duties

The Steering Committee meets monthly. It ensures that an agenda for all regular and special meetings of the Faculty Council is sent to the electorate.

A full description of the Steering Committee's powers and duties may be found in the bylaws

Membership

No Term Limit
Two-Year Terms

2017-2019 Term

  • Jeffery Mador, MD
    Department of Medicine
    Clinical Representative to Executive Committee
    mador@buffalo.edu
  • John Panepinto, PhD
    Department of Microbiology and Immunology
    Parliamentarian
    jcp25@buffalo.edu

2016-2018 Term

  • Mark D. Parker, PhD
    Department of Physiology and Biophysics
    Secretary
    parker28@buffalo.edu
  • Gabriela K. Popescu, PhD
    Department of Biochemistry
    Basic Science Representative to Executive Committee
    popescu@buffalo.edu

 

One-Year Terms

2017-2018 Term

  • Fernando Estrada, PhD
    Department of Biochemistry
    Representative to Steering Committee
    dfestrad@buffalo.edu
  • Philip L. Glick, MD, MBA
    Chair of Faculty Senate
    glicklab@buffalo.edu
  • John Hall, MD
    Department of Medicine
    Representative to Steering Committee
    jdrbmd@verizon.net
  • James Lohr, MD
    Department of Medicine
    Representative to Steering Committee
    jwlohr@buffalo.edu
  • Michael J. Morales, PhD
    Department of Physiology and Biophysics
    President
    moralesm@buffalo.edu
  • Thomas A. Russo, MD
    Department of Medicine
    Past President
    trusso@buffalo.edu
  • Lynn Steinbrenner, MD
    Department of Medicine
    President-Elect
    lynn.steinbrenner@va.gov