A psychiatry resident/faculty team received a Quality Improvement Award from the Office of Graduate Medical Education to help support a project designed to improve patient care or clinical practice.


Seven resident-faculty teams have received Quality Improvement Awards from the Office of Graduate Medical Education.


Two pediatric resident/faculty teams received Quality Improvement Awards from the Office of Graduate Medical Education.


For the second year in a row, a UB medical student has won the prestigous American Medical Association Foundation Minority Scholars Award.


Nine residents and fellows received honors for outstanding poster presentations at the 15th annual Scholarly Exchange Day.


Joseph L. Izzo Jr., MD, professor in the Department of Medicine, has been awarded the American Society of Hypertension’s Marvin Moser Clinical Hypertension Award for 2012.


The biomedical engineering department graduated its first class this spring, a milestone for the fast-growing program that focuses on developing medical devices and therapies.


One in three claims of effective interventions made in top general medical journals may be wrong because investigators didn’t account for clinical trial participants who dropped out.


G. Richard Braen, MD, is principal investigator on a $2.57 million federal grant to reduce unnecessary emergency department visits.


Kaleida Health and UB opened a new 10-story vascular institute and research building May 24.


UB has received $1.9 million from the NIH to fund the education of 20 UB biomedical and behavioral scientists from underrepresented groups.


Michael E. Cain, MD, and Harold Strauss, MD, are recipients of the Stanley J. Sarnoff Spirit Award for their dedication to the Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation.


Albert H. Titus, PhD, has been appointed to serve a two-year term as chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering.

Obese drivers are far less likely to wear seatbelts than normal weight drivers, a UB study shows.

Margarita Dubocovich, PhD, has been recognized for her scientific and academic achievements in pharmacology.


Gil I. Wolfe, MD, professor and chair of neurology, helped organize the 12th International Conference on Myasthenia Gravis and Related Disorders.


Thomas Melendy, PhD, has identified a protein interaction that could present the first viable, broad-range drug target for human papilloma virus.


Paresh Dandona has been named a State University of New York Distinguished Professor, the highest faculty rank in the SUNY system.

Central Branch of the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library hosts exhibition of work by four elite international architectural teams.

Anthony Auerbach and Mark Lema are among seven UB faculty recipients of the prestigious SUNY award.


UB’s Jacobs Neurological Institute is receiving $10,000 from the sale of New York State license plates bearing the National Multiple Sclerosis Society logo to boost research into pediatric MS.


HOK—an architectural firm with an extensive portfolio of health sciences facilities and academic buildings—has been selected to help produce the final design for UB’s new School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.


James Wyche, PhD, provost and chief academic officer at Howard University, was honored speaker at the undergraduate and graduate biomedical sciences commencement.


Research by UB cardiologists suggests that imaging for loss of nerve function in the heart may help identify patients who are at high risk of sudden cardiac arrest and therefore most likely to benefit from an implantable cardiac defibrillator.


UB’s Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE) is rapidly becoming one of the most highly sought opportunities in the U.S. for undergraduates interested in exploring biomedical research.


Anne B. Curtis, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine, received the Heart Rhythm Society’s Distinguished Service Award for her contributions to the organization.

Members of the UB Neuroscience Graduate Student Association took part in Brain Awareness Week, a community outreach program aimed at raising awareness about the brain.

Michael E. Cain, MD, has received a Resident/Fellow Alumni Achievement Award from Washington University in St. Louis.


Satpal Singh, associate professor of pharmacology and toxicology, is one of three UB faculty members honored for mentoring undergraduates.


Students from the Department of Biotechnical and Clinical Laboratory Sciences presented research at the Master’s Level Graduate Research Conference in Brockport.


Jeremy Berg, former director of the NIH’s National Institute of General Medical Sciences, served as honored speaker at the medical school’s 166th commencement.


To provide elderly hospitalized patients with optimal care, the medical community needs to reevaluate its reliance on aggressive high-tech treatments, says UB geriatrics specialist Bruce Naughton, MD.


Three graduate students in our school are among the five recipients of UB’s annual Sigma Xi research awards.


Three seniors majoring in biomedical sciences and one in pharmacology and toxicology have won Chancellor’s Awards for Student Excellence, the highest honor that SUNY bestows on its students.


Robert Taylor, Class of 2013, is one of only 103 medical students in the country to be awarded a Doris Duke Clinical Research Fellowship.


Biotechnology major Nurul Hidayah A. Azmi was one of 11 undergraduates to receive an Award for Excellence in Research, Scholarship and Creativity.


Teachers in pediatrics, pathology and anatomical sciences, family medicine and surgery received Louis A. and Ruth Siegel Awards at this year’s ceremony.


Members of the UB Neuroscience Graduate Student Association helped organize the local Brain Bee, a competition that tests high schoolers’ knowledge of the brain.


Steven J. Fliesler, PhD, has been invited to serve as chair of the publications committee for the world’s largest eye and vision research professional society.


Twenty-four students were inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society, during a ceremony in Butler Auditorium.

Bilal Ahmed, Class of 2015, is one of only 27 students nationwide to receive a Summer Medical Research Fellowship from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.


MD/PhD candidate Maryann Mikucki is one of nine graduate students nationwide to receive a $10,000 research scholar award from the Joanna M. Nicolay Melanoma Foundation.


The four firms selected as finalists in a competition to design the new home of the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences presented their proposals March 28.


Ekue B. Adamah-Biassi and Anthony J. Hutchinson have received Maximizing Access to Research Careers Travel Awards for this year’s Experimental Biology meeting.


David Thorn, a PhD student in pharmacology and toxicology, received a travel award to attend the Behavior, Biology and Chemistry Annual Meeting.


Emma Magavern and Timothy Thayer, Class of 2014, are part of a select group of 13 students awarded a scholarship from the Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation.


UB is enrolling Western New York Families in a free, highly successful weight loss program that was developed at the university.


Jason Ma, a pharmacology and toxicology major, was one of four UB undergraduates selected to present original research findings to SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher and state elected officials.