University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content



The University at Buffalo’s Richard Sarkin Medical Emeritus Faculty Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) has inducted 43 exemplary medical students, residents, fellows and faculty members for 2017.


Seven resident-faculty teams in the Department of Medicine have received 2016-2017 Quality Improvement Awards from UB’s Office of Graduate Medical Education to help support projects designed to improve patient safety or clinical practice.

Janet C. Sundquist, MD

Faculty in the Department of Medicine’s Division of General Internal Medicine have received a grant to participate in a national campaign that encourages medical students and trainees to pursue careers in the field.

Richard D. Blondell, MD

The University at Buffalo is strengthening education for medical residents who care for patients who are addicted or are at risk for addiction by focusing more training on safe prescribing practices and safe pain management.


Seven resident-faculty teams have received Quality Improvement Awards from the Office of Graduate Medical Education.


Nine residents and fellows received honors for outstanding poster presentations at the 15th annual Scholarly Exchange Day.


UB is one of just 10 institutions nationwide chosen by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation to create a pilot chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society for medical residents and fellows.

2014 UB Gold Humanism Honor Society inductees
Forty-three outstanding medical students, residents, fellows and faculty members have been inducted into the University at Buffalo’s Richard Sarkin Medical Emeritus Faculty Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS).
Karanbir Singh, Pooja Sofat, Muhammad Masud, Deeya Gaindh, Nicholas Silvestri, Noureldin Abdelhamid
University at Buffalo residents and fellows are teaming up with faculty mentors to explore new ways of providing better health care.

Alan J. Lesse, MD, and John A. Sellick Jr., DO, associate professors of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, presented the latest information about the Ebola virus outbreak at a Mini Medical School lecture, a free public talk.

Suzanne Laychock, Stephen Rudin and Michael E. Cain

The School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences celebrated outstanding research, service and teaching achievements during its 2014 Faculty-Staff Recognition Awards event May 29.

Roseanne C. Berger, MD

Roseanne C. Berger, MD, senior associate dean for graduate medical education, will be one of three leaders nationwide honored with a 2015 Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead award.

Myron L. Glick, MD
“We have no reason to fear Ebola here in the United States, but the situation in West Africa is a grave humanitarian crisis,” Myron L. Glick, MD, told a standing room-only crowd of University at Buffalo medical students and residents shortly after returning from Sierra Leone.
Kim Griswold, MD, MPH

For one eye-opening afternoon, University at Buffalo resident physicians and medical students experienced the challenges and frustrations their patients face every day if they’re poor.