Murphy, Hogan Share Dean's Award

Published June 17, 2011 This content is archived.

Timothy F. Murphy, MD, and Perry M. Hogan, PhD, received the 2011 Dean’s Award for their extraordinary service to the school.

Dean Michael E. Cain, MD, presented the award at the June 8 faculty staff recognition ceremony.

”These are two individuals who worked on projects that helped define the excellence of our school,” said Cain.

Murphy Honored for Competitive CTSA Application

“These are two individuals who worked on projects that helped define the excellence of our school. ”
Michael E. Cain, MD
Dean, School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Murphy is senior associate dean for clinical and translational research and SUNY Distinguished Professor in the Department of Medicine.

Cain recognized him for leading the school’s efforts to submit a Clinical Translational Science Award (CTSA) application to the National Institutes of Health. He explained that the NIH recently selected five schools to fund in the current cycle, and that UB's application ranked seventh.

“Tim Murphy has compiled a CTSA application for this university and the Buffalo Translational Consortium that puts us in an extraordinarily competitive position to receive one of these awards in the next round of funding in 2012,” said Cain. “This was an absolutely outstanding effort by over 100 people, but it was Tim’s leadership that made it happen.”

Hogan Lauded for His Work on LCME Review

Cain recognized Hogan, a SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics, for his effort to help prepare the school for review by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME).

“Perry devoted two years to getting us ready for the LCME review that resulted in continued accreditation for our school of medicine,” said Cain. “He is the individual who spearheaded this effort, which is still ongoing, and I would like to personally recognize and thank him for this.”