Steering Committee

The Steering Committee of Faculty Council includes representatives from both basic science and clinical departments. The Steering Committee represents, and acts on behalf of the Faculty Council in all matters within the purview of the Faculty Council.

All actions of the Steering Committee are subject to prior or subsequent approval of the Faculty Council.  

Powers and Duties

The Steering Committee meets monthly. It ensures that an agenda for all regular and special meetings of the Faculty Council is sent to the electorate.

A full description of the Steering Committee's powers and duties may be found in the bylaws


Ex-Officio Members

Officers of the Faculty Council

  • Regina Makdissi, MD
    President, 2020-2021
    Department of Medicine
  • Wilma Hofmann, PhD
    President-Elect, 2020-2021
    Department of Physiology and Biophysics
  • Peter Bradford, PhD
    Past President, 2019-2020
    Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Margaret DeAngelis, PhD
    Secretary, 2020-2022
    Department of Ophthalmology
  • Richard Gronostajski, PhD
    Parliamentarian, 2019-2021
    Department of Biochemistry
  • Thomas Melendy, PhD
    Basic Science Representative to Executive Committee, 2020-2022
    Department of Microbiology and Immunology
  • Melissa Rayhill, MD
    Clinical Representative to Executive Committee, 2019-2021
    Department of Neurology

At-Large Representatives to the Faculty Council Steering Committee

2020-2021 Term

  • Peter Elkin, MD
    Department of Biomedical Informatics
    Representative to Steering Committee
  • Howard Faden, MD
    Department of Pediatrics
    Representative to Steering Committee
  • Steven Fliesler, PhD
    Department of Ophthalmology
    Representative to Steering Committee