Nine Medical School Awardees Honored for Achievement, Service

Published October 23, 2015 This content is archived.

story by adrienne boudreau

Nine faculty members from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for notable achievement and service at the 12th annual University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence.


Awardees Recognized as Scholars, Teachers

SUNY Distinguished Ranks

This highest State University of New York rank recognizes exceptional faculty merit and outstanding academic contributions.

John M. Canty Jr, MD.

John M. Canty Jr., MD
SUNY Distinguished Professor, Albert and Elizabeth Rekate Professor and chief of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

This award honors faculty members who make extraordinary contributions to their fields.

Ralph HB, Benedict, PhD.

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

This award honors faculty members who demonstrate superb classroom performance, in part through rigorous and innovative teaching methodologies and a commitment to helping students.

Peter G. Bradford, PhD.

University at Buffalo 50 Years of Service

This rank honors faculty and staff members who recently achieved an exceptional milestone: completing 50 years of service to UB.

Shinpei Ohki, PhD.

Shinpei Ohki, PhD
Director of undergraduate studies in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics

Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award

This award honors exceptional excellence in faculty mentoring of graduate students from course completion through research and subsequent career placement. 

Anthony A. Campagnari, PhD.

UB Exceptional Scholars — Sustained Achievement Award

This honor recognizes unprecedented accomplishment and a distinguishing body of work with enduring importance.

Chester H. Fox, MD.

Chester H. Fox, MD
Professor of family medicine

Norma J. Nowak, PhD.
Noreen Williams, PhD.

UB Exceptional Scholars- Young Investigator Award

David Dietz, PhD.

The 2015 Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence took place on Oct. 22 in Slee Hall.