6 Medical Residents Honored at Student Clinician Ceremony

Published October 30, 2017 This content is archived.

story by bill bruton

Six medical residents received Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards during the 15th annual Student Clinician Ceremony.

Recognized for Compassionate Treatment of Patients


Students in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences Class of 2018 made nominations based on the honorees’ commitment to teaching and compassionate treatment of patients and families, students and colleagues.

The honorees were:

Transition From Academic to Clinical Year Recognized

The Student Clinician Ceremony — which this year honored the Class of 2019 — recognizes the transition of rising third-year medical students from the academic to the clinical year. It is meant to initiate medical students into their clinical years with a support system in place.

The event was developed by students and faculty. It aims to reinforce the confidence of students who are entering their clinical years by discussing fears and expectations, providing direction and also revisiting the oath the students took during their White Coat Ceremony.

Justicia-Linde Gives Keynote Address

Two members of the Class of 2019 had featured roles in the ceremony. Connor Arquette, president of Polity — the medical student government — gave the welcome. Sarah Budik, chair of the Professional Conduct Committee (PCC), presented the awards.

Michael E. Cain, MD, vice president for health sciences and dean of the medical school, gave the opening remarks.

The keynote speaker was Faye E. Justicia-Linde, MD, clinical assistant professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Justicia-Linde was one of seven medical school faculty members inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society earlier this year.

Cain led all students — and all physicians in attendance — in reciting the oath of medicine before the closing remarks, which were provided by David A. Milling, MD, senior associate dean for student and academic affairs.

Professional Conduct Committee Presents Ceremony

The event was presented by the PCC, which was established in 2000 when the Code of Professional Conduct for UB medical students was ratified. It consists of three student representatives from each class and three faculty members.

Funding for the ceremony — and a reception that followed the event — was provided by the John A. Wendel Endowment Fund, established by Virginia Wendel; the Arnold P. Gold Foundation; and the Medical Alumni Association.

The ceremony took place June 30 in the David C. Hohn, MD, Lecture Hall in the Research Studies Center at Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center.