39 Inductees Join UB Chapter of AOA Honor Medical Society

Published April 1, 2020

story by bill bruton

Thirty-four medical students, three residents and two faculty members have joined the University at Buffalo’s chapter of the national honor medical society Alpha Omega Alpha.


Inductees Demonstrate Excellence

Election to AOA is a lifelong honor that signifies a commitment to scholarship, leadership, professionalism and service to the art of healing. 

The following medical students and residents have been inducted:

Medical Students

Class of 2020

  • Daniel Curtis Bailey
  • Nikhita Chahal
  • Amandip Singh Cheema
  • Christian Michael Curatolo
  • Luke H. DeGraaff
  • Christian Barrett Gluck
  • Alimul Islam
  • Alvin Jeon
  • Holly Johnson
  • Sean Patrick Martin
  • Gregory Morgan
  • Victoria Mustovic
  • Marta Iwona Plonka
  • Nicole Ruh
  • Sarah Rusnak
  • Kevin Thomas Schauer
  • Ashutosh Sharma
  • Alex C. Sunshine
  • Michelle E. Whittum

Class of 2021

  • Casey Cabrinha
  • Chelsea Cleveland
  • Michael Cobler-Lichter
  • Andrew James Fink
  • Andrew Douglas Gong
  • Angela Grassi
  • Elizabeth Kaufman
  • Andrew Philip Kelly
  • David A. Kerling Jr.
  • Austin Kloc
  • Mark Lawler
  • Jacob Robert Light
  • Alexandra Marrone
  • Nico Shary
  • Anne Stoklosa


Faculty Inductees Are Alumni

The two faculty members inducted this year are both alumni.

Susan J. Gallagher, MD ’82, clinical associate professor of medicine, was clerkship director for third- and fourth-year required medical clerkships for many years. For the third-year students, she developed a practical examination to assess interpretation of commonly encountered problems on chest radiographs, ECGs, hematologic smears, microbiologic samples and electrolyte disorders.

Additionally, she sees patients through UBMD Internal Medicine.

David L. Marchetti, MD ’78, is a clinical assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology. He is well known for his radical upper abdominal and extended pelvic resection surgical technique.

Executive Committee Welcomes New Members

All new inductees will receive official certificates from the Epsilon Chapter Executive Committee. Members are:

President — Nicholas S. Silvestri, MD, clinical associate professor of neurology and assistant dean for student affairs

Vice President — Faye E. Justicia-Linde, MD, clinical associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology

Secretary and Treasurer — Christopher S. Cohan, PhD, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor of pathology and anatomical sciences

Councilor — Frank T. Schimpfhauser, PhD, associate dean for curriculum