10 Medical School Awardees Honored for Excellence

Published November 3, 2021

story by dirk hoffman

Nine faculty members and a staff member from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for notable achievement and service at the 18th annual University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence


Faculty Honored for Scholarship, Teaching

SUNY Distinguished Ranks

This highest State University of New York rank recognizes exceptional faculty merit and outstanding academic contributions.

Thomas A Russo, MD
SUNY Distinguished Professor of medicine and chief of its Division of Infectious Diseases

Bianca Weinstock-Guttman, MD
SUNY Distinguished Professor of neurology

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

This award honors faculty members who make extraordinary contributions to their fields.

John J. Leddy, MD
Clinical professor of orthopaedics

UB Distinguished Professor

The Office of the Provost created the rank of UB Distinguished Professor to honor full professors who have achieved national or international recognition as experts in their fields of study. UB Distinguished Professors are members of the faculty who have been full professors for a minimum of five years with a demonstrated record of excellence in artistic or scholarly contributions.

50 Years of Service to UB

This award recognizes faculty who recently achieved an exceptional milestone: completing 50 years of service to UB.

Michael E. Cohen, MD
Professor of neurology and pediatrics

UB Exceptional Scholars — Sustained Achievement Award

This honor recognizes unprecedented accomplishment and a distinguishing body of work with enduring importance.

Key Staff Members Honored for Service

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service

This award honors members of the professional staff whose extraordinary service contributions have significantly enriched the university.

Cheryl A. Michalowski
Director of administration in the Department of Biomedical Engineering

Karen L. Zinnerstrom, PhD
Administrative director of the Margaret L. Wendt Foundation Clinical Competency Center and the Behling Human Simulation Center

The Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence took place Oct. 28 in Slee Hall on UB’s North Campus.