NYSED Approved Schools (12-week rule)

General rule

An applicant who is expected to graduate (or has graduated) from a non-LCME accredited international medical school must satisfy New York State’s 12 week rule in order to be eligible to participate in a medical residency/fellowship training program in New York State.

The rule, promulgated by the New York State Department of Health, provides that an individual who graduates from a non-LCME accredited international medical school may not train in New York State if his/her medical school education includes more than 12 weeks of clinical clerkship rotations outside of the country in which his/her medical school is located.

For purposes of counting clinical rotation time that occurred outside of the country in which an applicant’s medical school is located, only rotations that are required for the applicant’s medical education degree should be considered. 

Exception for approved schools

The New York State Department of Education has approved a list of schools that are excluded from this general rule. Applicants who attend one of the following schools are not subject to the 12 week rule:
  • American University of Antigua, Antigua 
  • American University of the Caribbean, Cupecoy, St. Martin
  • The Autonomous University of Guadalajara, Guadalajara, Mexico 
  • English Language Program, University of Debrecen, Medical and Health Science Center, Medical School, Debrecen, Hungary 
  • English Language Program, Medical University of Lublin, Lublin, Poland 
  • English Language Program, Medical University of Silesia, Katowice, Poland 
  • Fatima College of Medicine, Manila, Philippines 
  • International Health and Medicine Program, Ben Gurion University of the Negrev, Beer-Sheva, Israel 
  • Kasturba Medical College, Manipal, India 
  • Medical University of the Americas/Nevis, Nevis, West Indies 
  • Ross University School of Medicine, Roseau, Dominica 
  • Saba University School of Medicine, The Bottom, Saba 
  • St. George’s University School of Medicine, St. George’s, Grenada 
  • St. Matthew’s University School of Medicine, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands 
  • Technion Israel Institute of Technology - Technion American Medical Students Program (TEAMS), Haifa, Israel 
  • The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
  • Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar, Doha, Qataar*
  • Xavier University School of Medicine, Oranjestad, Aruba
*Graduates of Weill Cornell Medical College are only exepmt from the 12 week rule if graduated between fall of 2016-fall of 2018
In addition, there is an exception for the following institutions chartered by the New York State Board of Regents and offering registered degree programs:
  • American University of Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon
  • Bar-Ilan University, Ramat-Gan, Israel
  • The Center for Economics Research and Graduate Education-Economics Institute (CERGE-EI), Prague, Czech Republic
  • The Central European University, Budapest, Hungary
  • Lebanese American University (LAU), Beirut, Lebanon
  • The Sackler School of Medicine, Tel Aviv, Israel

As of 10/2020