Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Fellowship

Program director Jayasree Nair, MD with fellow Andreina Mari Torrealba, MD.

Our three-year fellowship program trains you to become an accomplished and qualified neonatologist, both clinically and academically, and provides you with a research foundation upon which to build your career.

We understand that you may be having difficulties in obtaining letters of recommendation, access to rotations to prepare for fellowship training, and ability to complete research projects. We will review all applicants in their entirety and take the various difficulties that the candidates face into consideration. We affirm our commitment to virtual interviews this season to all our applicants. This aligns with the consensus statement by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

Our fellows have a diverse and robust clinical experience at the 64-bed Level 4 NICU at the John R. Oishei Children’s Hospital, which is the Regional Perinatal Center for Western New York. We admit 850 to 950 patients each year with approximately 1/3 of admissions consisting of transfers from affiliate hospitals in the eight counties of WNY due to a need for the highest level of care available in our region. ECMO, whole body hypothermia, immediate access to pediatric subspecialties as well as pediatric surgical care are provided on site to our patient population.

Our multidisciplinary care team includes dedicated and accomplished neonatology faculty, residents from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)-accredited Pediatric Residency Program and an experienced advance practice provider team, with members fulfilling both transport and inpatient responsibilities. We are actively involved in cutting-edge neonatal research and participate in large National Institutes of Health (NIH)-funded neonatal trials, thus bringing the most up-to-date therapies for our infants to benefit from. Several of our faculty are recipients of grants from the NIH and the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), demonstrating continued excellence and dedication.

Our program is tailored to the interests and needs of each fellow. We’ll help you achieve clinical proficiency and a broad knowledge base in neonatal-perinatal medicine. Our three-year program is accredited by the ACGME and satisfies requirements of the American Board of Pediatrics Subspecialty Board of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine.

A highly diverse program, in personnel, perspectives and patient population, we are committed to fostering and promoting diversity, principles that are strongly upheld by both the Jacobs School and the Department of Pediatrics.

How To Apply

Our program currently welcomes applicants who have completed three years of pediatric residency training and are US citizens, permanent residents as well as those on J1 and H1 visas. Candidates should apply through ERAS and enter the Neonatology Match through NRMP.

In your personal statement, please tell us about yourself, your interest in neonatology and your long-term plans and specific fellowship training goals. Additional documents required include letters of recommendation from your chair of pediatrics, the director of neonatology and two other faculty members you have worked with over the past two years.

We welcome applications from candidates interested in a highly academic and research oriented program, with a patient volume and case complexity that ensures an excellent clinical experience. 

Contact Us

If you have any questions, please contact:

Training Program Administrator

Rhonda Saunders

Fellowship Program Administrator

Pediatrics, Division of Neonatology

1001 Main Street, 5th Floor, Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 323-0256; Fax: (716) 323-0294



1001 Main Street
5th Floor
Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 323-0260
Fax: (716) 323-0294

Program Director

Nair, Jayasree

Jayasree Nair, MD

Assistant Professor

UBMD Pediatrics, Division of Neonatology, 1001 Main Street Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 323-0260; Fax: (716) 323-0294


Our Current Fellows

Mausma Bawa.

Mausma Bawa, MD

Medical School: Yenepoya Medical College; Residency: Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Medical College; Hometown: India

Clariss Blanco, MD

Medical School: Cebu Institute of Medicine; Residency: NYC Health + Hospitals; Hometown: Philippines

N Ja Hpa.

N Ja Hpa, MD

Medical School: University of Medicine 1; Residency: New York Medical College; Hometown: Yat Sauk, Myanmar

Srinivasan Mani.

Srinivasan Mani, MD

Medical School: Madras Medical College; Residency: Brookdale University Hospital and Medical Center; Hometown: Chennai, India

Arun Prasath, MBBS

Medical School: Pondicherry Institute of Medical Sciences and Research; Residency: Marshfield Clinic; Hometown: India

Pedro Rivera-Hernandez.

Pedro Rivera-Hernandez, MD

Medical School: San Juan Bautista School of Medicine; Residency: Cooper University Hospital; Hometown: Bayamon, Puerto Rico

Andreina Mari Torrealba.

Andreina Mari Torrealba, MD

Medical School: University of Carabobo; Residency: University of Carabobo; Hometown: Venezuela

This program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).