Provost Charles F Zukoski, Anne B. Curtis, MD, and President Satish K. Tripathi.

President Satish K. Tripathi (right) congratulates Anne B. Curtis, MD, on being named a UB Distinguished Professor, with Provost Charles F. Zukoski looking on.

10 Medical School Faculty Honored at UB ‘Celebration of Excellence’

Published October 15, 2013 This content is archived.

Story by Suzanne Kashuba

Ten faculty members from the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for exemplary achievement at the 10th annual UB Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence.


Awardees Recognized as Scholars, Teachers

SUNY Distinguished Ranks

This highest State University of New York rank recognizes exceptional faculty merit and outstanding academic contributions.

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

This award honors faculty members who make extraordinary contributions to their fields.

University at Buffalo Distinguished Ranks

This rank honors professors who have achieved national or international recognition as experts in their fields.

UB 50 Years of Service

  • Alexander (Alastair) C. Brownie,  PhD
    SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor emeritus of biochemistry

UB Exceptional Scholars — Sustained Achievement Award

This honor recognizes unprecedented accomplishment and a distinguishing body of work with enduring importance.

UB Teaching Innovation Award

This award honors exceptional educational pedagogy that has enhanced student learning outcomes.

The Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence took place Oct. 9.