Higgins Award for Dissertation Research

We recognize the outstanding dissertation research and academic accomplishments of our doctoral candidates.

If you are a doctoral candidate in our PhD program, your faculty adviser may nominate you for our Dennis Higgins, PhD, Award for Dissertation Research if your research has culminated in:

  • publications
  • presentations at national and international meetings
  • research grant fellowships and awards of excellence

Nomination Process


Faculty members can nominate any doctoral candidate they mentor. Nominees must have completed all of the requirements for the doctorate.

Required Materials

To be considered for the annual award, nominees should submit the following materials to Arthur M. Edelman, PhD, chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology Awards Committee:

  • dissertation abstract
  • current curriculum vitae
  • nominating letter from your PhD mentor
  • date of thesis defense and approval
  • date of PhD degree conferral

Submitting Your Materials

If your faculty adviser nominates you for the award, submit all materials by the first Monday in March.

Award Presentation

The award is presented at the annual commencement ceremony in May, as follows:

PhD conferred:

Award presented:

Feb. 1 year of application
June 1

year after application

Sept. 1 year after application

Contact Information

Edelman, Arthur

Arthur Edelman, PhD

Associate Professor

955 Main Street Room 3224 Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 829-3491; Fax: (716) 829-2801

Email: aedelman@buffalo.edu

Dennis Higgins, PhD

Dennis M. Higgins, PhD — an internationally known developmental neurobiologist — joined the pharmacology and toxicology faculty in 1983. During his multi-decade career at the University at Buffalo, Higgins made significant contributions to research on neuronal morphogenesis. Colleagues and students remember him as a model faculty member who demonstrated excellence in research, teaching and service. Higgins is known for the high standards he set for himself and the medical school. This award honors his memory. Recipients are committed to community service and collegiality within the scientific community.

Recent Recipients

  • Rasheen Powell (2022)
  • Samantha Van Etten (2021)
  • Jennifer A. Martin Schieber (2020)
  • Kerri A. Pryce (2019)
  • Justin Siemian (2018)
  • Jiabei Liu (2017)
  • Shannon Clough (2016)
  • David Thorn (2015)
  • Alexander Morrison-Nozik (2014)