Suzanne Laychock, Stephen Rudin and Michael E. Cain.

Renowned medical physicist Stephen Rudin, PhD (center), receives the 2014 Stockton Kimball Award from Suzanne Laychock, PhD (left), and Michael E. Cain, MD.

Outstanding Medical School Faculty, Staff Honored in 2014

Published June 3, 2014 This content is archived.

Story by Suzanne Kashuba

A pioneering researcher and others who have made significant contributions to their fields and to the School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were honored with 2014 Faculty-Staff Recognition Awards.

A world-renowned expert in medical physics, Stephen Rudin, PhD, was lauded for his career-long “display of global excellence.”

The following awards were presented or announced during a May 29 event:

  • Stephen Rudin, PhD
    SUNY Distinguished Professor of radiology
    director of radiation physics

A world-renowned expert in medical physics, Rudin was lauded for his career-long “display of global excellence.”

Working with interdisciplinary teams, he has pioneered cutting-edge technologies and methods for medical diagnostics and interventional imaging, with applications for brain and heart treatment.

He is best known for his work in developing a solid-state x-ray image intensifier and for his research in asymmetric stents.

A fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, Rudin will deliver the Stockton Kimball Lecture in 2015.

Dean’s Award

Lauded for her “tireless contributions,” Beger oversees residency training in 63 programs at UB-affiliated hospitals — all of which are fully accredited, most for the maximum number of years allowed.

“Roseanne is recognized as a superb leader, administrator, educator, and physician, and is a valued and loyal citizen of our school and university,” said Michael E. Cain, MD, vice president for health sciences and medical school dean.

This award recognizes an individual who has provided extraordinary service to the school and has gone above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference.

John P. Naughton Award

Described as “empathetic, kind and tolerant,” Rosso has been the medical school’s first personal contact with prospective students for 25 years. He is known for displaying the utmost professionalism while putting applicants at ease throughout the entire admission process.

Named for a former medical school dean, this award recognizes outstanding staff members or volunteers who contribute significantly to the advancement of the medical school and its mission.

Robert S. Berkson, MD Memorial Award

This award recognizes Sridhar’s “brilliance as a teacher” and selflessness and dedication to the best patient care.

He was described as a “fantastic consultant on the inpatient service.” He trains residents on rounds as well as medical students in his office and through well-received lectures on renal tubular acidosis.

This award is named for a Buffalo internist and medical school alumnus who was actively involved in teaching medical students and residents.

Awards of Excellence for Promoting Inclusion and Cultural Diversity

Faculty Award

Noted for his work with indigenous Americans, Jarvis contributed to the memorandum of understanding between the University at Buffalo and the Indian Health Service that aims to improve health outcomes in Native communities across the region.

He chaired the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Committee on Native American Child Health.

Medical Student Award

  • Sarah E. Riley, Class of 2016

Riley has assumed numerous volunteer and leadership roles that distinguish her as an advocate for the medically underserved, especially refugees. She has served as president of the UB student group Physicians For Human Rights, a student manager at Friends of the Night People and a volunteer mentor for pregnant refugees through the Priscilla Project.

Graduate Student Award

Praised as a “natural leader,” Asare has worked to encourage underrepresented students to pursue science careers. She established after-school programs for Buffalo students with a focus on chemistry. She visits her alma mater, Tougaloo College, to discuss career options and strategies for success with current undergraduates.

Medical Resident Award

Noted for her advocacy of diversity within her residency program as well as her academic work at an outpatient medicine site, Davis is conducting a project about African Americans’ approach to palliative care. She also served as an outreach resident, speaking to underrepresented minorities who may consider medical training at UB.

Service Awards

50 Years

  • Alastair Brownie, PhD, DSc
    SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor emeritus of biochemistry
    curriculum consultant


30 Years

  • Luann M. Kaite
    assistant to the chair (staff assistant)
    biotechnical and clinical laboratory sciences
  • William S. Pudlak
    instructional support technician

Siegel Awardees Also Recognized