Students Present Latest Findings at Research Symposium

Published October 4, 2011 This content is archived.

Eighteen students from the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology presented posters on their research at a Sept. 23 symposium in the Biomedical Education Building.


Graduate Student Award Winners

The following graduate students won awards:

2011 Allen Barnett Graduate Student Travel Award

Winner: Loukia Karacosta (PhD candidate)
Advisor: Arthur Edelman, PhD
Poster: The Role of CaMKK2 in Prostate Cancer Progression

Best Poster: PhD Graduate Student Award

Winner: Alice Crane (MD/PhD candidate)
Advisor: James Olson, PhD
Poster: Effect of CYP2B6*6 and CYP2C19*2 Genotype on Chlorpyrifos Metabolism

Best Poster: Master’s Student Award

Winner: Liwei Wang (MA candidate)
Advisor: Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD
Poster: Pharmacological Characterization of the Competitive Melatonin Receptor Antagonist Luzindole and Its Metabolites on hMT1 and hMT2 Melatonin Receptors

Undergraduate Student Awards

The following undergraduates won awards:

Undergraduate Student Travel Award

Winner: Bansi Vedia
Advisor: Fraser Sim, PhD
Poster Title: Regulation of Human Oligodendrocyte Differentiation by Muscarinic M3 Receptor

Second Prize: Undergraduate Student Award

Winner: Tatiana Shaurova
Advisor: Rajendram Rajnarayanan, PhD
Poster: Small Molecules Targeting TRPV1 Channel

Travel award winners received funds to attend the annual meeting of the Society of Toxicology or the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (“Experimental Biology 2012”).

All other winners received cash prizes.

Faculty judged the posters.

Lesse Receives 2011 Faculty Teaching Award

Alan Lesse, MD, associate professor of pharmacology and toxicology and medicine, received the 2011 Faculty Teaching Award at the symposium.

Students in the department selected Lesse for the award.