Cain is a Surprise Inductee Into Gold Humanism Society

Published October 13, 2021

story by bill bruton

The surprise induction of Michael E. Cain, MD, outgoing dean of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences and vice president for health sciences, into UB’s Richard Sarkin Medical Emeritus Faculty Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) highlighted this year’s ceremony.


‘Exemplary Leader’ Honored

“Dr. Cain is an exemplary leader and a true visionary who elevated medical education and training, biomedical research and clinical care at UB and the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences,” said GHHS member Diva Wilson, MD, in recognizing Cain and his accomplishments. “His achievements and contributions to the health and vitality of Western New York are infinite and will forever impact the Jacobs School and all of UB’s health sciences schools.”

“During his tenure as dean and vice president for health sciences he rebuilt and modernized the Jacobs School to create an innovative environment where students, residents, alumni, faculty and the community are continuously inspired to give back and emulate the culture of best clinical practices, scientific curiosity and community service,” added Wilson, who completed her family medicine residency this year.

“Thank you. This is a true surprise,” said Cain, who will assume a faculty position in the Department of Medicine’s Division of Cardiovascular Medicine.

“This means a great deal to me. I’m deeply moved,” Cain added.

17 Residents and Fellows Inducted

The following residents and fellows were inducted:

21 Medical Students Are Honored

The following third-year medical students — who make up about 12 percent of the Class of 2022 — were inducted:

  • Laura Artim
  • Thomas Barbaccia
  • Katelyn Benson
  • Mary Bridge
  • Joana Coelho
  • Danielle Dunn
  • Brandon Ewing
  • Nicolas Fesser
  • Tom Fuchs
  • Maria Geba
  • Shawn Gibson
  • David Krasinski
  • Blake Kruger
  • James Lioi
  • Thomas Listopadzki
  • Camilla Niedzwiedz
  • Chukwunoyelum Odukwe
  • Reema Panjwani
  • Anjuli Shah
  • Lauren Sielski
  • Katherine Zimmerman

Honor Society Welcomes Faculty Members

The following faculty members were also inducted:

Salemme Receives Goldstein Scholarship

Fourth-year medical student and GHHS member Ryan Salemme received the Dr. Howard R. Goldstein ’74 Memorial Humanitarian Scholarship.

Salemme, who matched to an internal medicine residency at George Washington University in Washington, D.C., also spoke about the chapter highlights.

The annual award provides one-year support for third- or fourth-year medical students.

In a previous award, Kathleen T. Grimm, MD, clinical assistant professor of medicine, was recognized as the winner of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.

Medical students nominate outstanding role models for the award, which was given out during UB’s White Coat Ceremony in August.

The Tow Award, which is sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates outstanding compassion in the delivery of care; respect for patients, their families and health-care colleagues; and demonstrated clinical excellence.

Chapter Honors Former Associate Professor

The society is a program of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, a not-for-profit organization that strives to elevate the values of humanism and professionalism in medicine worldwide.

UB’s more than 800 residents and fellows may nominate their peers into induction into a branch of the UB chapter, which is one of only 14 graduate medical education sections nationally that is affiliated with the society.

GHHS provides small grants that support creative projects that infuse and support humanism in training programs and hospitals.

Marcia Sarkin, GHHS member, spoke at the ceremony. The local chapter is named in memory of her late husband, Richard T. Sarkin, MD, EdM ’98, who was an associate professor of clinical pediatrics known for his teaching expertise and passion.

“Congratulations to all of you. It’s a great honor to be a part of such a wonderful organization,” she said.

Leonard A. Katz, MD, professor emeritus of medicine and founder of the UB chapter, thanked Cain and David A. Milling, MD ’93, senior associate dean for student and academic affairs, for their support of the chapter and urged the honorees to embrace humanism.

“We all know that humanism is a part of medicine,” Katz said. “We need to live it — and understand it.”

Gregory S. Cherr, MD, professor of surgery and assistant dean for graduate medical education, was master of ceremonies for the event and led inductees and members in reciting the Gold Humanism Society oath.

Due to the continuing COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s ceremony took place May 19 via videoconference.

Learn More About Our Residency and Fellowship Programs

The University at Buffalo is internationally recognized as a leader in education, research and patient care, with a long history of excellence in medical education that began in 1846. We have achieved this recognition by blending academic excellence, exceptional bedside clinical teaching and thoughtful innovation designed to meet the changing needs of future clinical practitioners.

Our Residency and Fellowship Programs offer physicians-in-training outstanding opportunities to learn from clinicians who are among the best in their fields.