8 Faculty Members Honored at Celebration of Excellence

Published December 12, 2019

story based on news release by sue wuetcher

Eight faculty members from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for notable achievement and service at the 16th annual University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence


Faculty Honored for Scholarship, Teaching

SUNY Distinguished Ranks

This highest State University of New York rank recognizes exceptional faculty merit and outstanding academic contributions.

Anthony A. Campagnari, PhD.

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

This award recognizes outstanding academic and creative achievements across a broad spectrum of scholarly and artistic fields.

M. Laura Feltri, MD.

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Faculty Service

This award acknowledges faculty members who have made sustained and wide-ranging service contributions to a broad array of university constituents.

Peter L. Elkin, MD.
Steven D. Schwaitzberg, MD.

Steven D. Schwaitzberg, MD
Professor and chair of surgery

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

This honor recognizes outstanding teaching ability through superb classroom performance.

Michael E. Duffey, PhD.

Exceptional Scholar Award for Sustained Achievement

This award honors outstanding professional achievement that has been focused on a particular body of work over a number of years. It recognizes an unprecedented accomplishment in a senior scholar’s career, distinguishing a body of work of enduring importance that has gone beyond the norm in a particular field of study.

Jeffrey M. Lackner, PsyD.
Ram Samudrala, PhD.

UB Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award

This award recognizes exceptional excellence in faculty mentoring of graduate students at the University at Buffalo.

Stylianos Andreadis, PhD.

Dedication Benefits ‘Every Aspect’ of UB

UB President Satish K. Tripathi, told the honorees at the Oct. 31 event that by excelling in their pursuit of excellence, they have “inspired our entire university community.”

“You are making a difference here at UB and in the communities we serve,” he said, noting that the honorees carry out their missions everyday by thinking critically and working collaboratively in classrooms, libraries, labs, studios, offices and beyond.

“Their dedication benefits every aspect of our university,” he said.