Leadership and Administration

Allison Brashear, MD, MBA, was appointed vice president for health sciences at UB and dean of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences in 2021.  

Associate Dean for Admissions

Fred Archer, MD, has responsibility for leading and managing all aspects of the MD admissions process at the Jacobs School.

Sarah Augustynek assists the vice president and dean in developing and shaping policy, strategies for collaborations and overall operating principles. 

Associate Dean of Clinical Transformation

Leslie J. Bisson, MD, leads efforts to shape the future of clinical medicine at the Jacobs School and within UBMD, with a commitment to excellence for patients, clinicians, and partners.

Director of Communications

Patrick Broadwater provides strategic and forward-thinking leadership for communications and marketing, advances the reputation of the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, develops awareness of the school’s brand, and leads the communications team.  

Gregory S. Cherr, MD, oversees residency training in more than 70 programs sponsored by the Jacobs School in affiliated hospitals throughout Western New York.

Alfred Dunn, MBA, works closely with the office of the Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean in support of the VPHS’ strategies and initiatives.

Kevin J. Gibbons, MD, is responsible for optimizing the performance of the medical school’s clinical programs, fostering an excellent training ground for future physicians and, in turn, helping to ensure both the present and future health of our community.

Senior Associate Dean and Executive Director, Office of Research

Marc Halterman, MD, PhD, leads efforts to actively advance and diversify the Jacobs School’s growing research enterprise.

Lisa Jane Jacobsen, MD, is involved in shaping the medical curriculum: revising course content, assisting course directors and faculty, and overseeing the development of a new medical curriculum.

Anyango Kamina, PhD, is responsible for continuing to build upon the success of the diversity and inclusion programs.

Suzanne Laychock, PhD, oversees faculty and staff recognition, career development and mentoring, and diversity and gender equality. She also oversees undergraduate programs in the biomedical sciences.

Associate Dean for Medical Curriculum

Alan J. Lesse, MD, is responsible for coordinating and implementing all activities pertaining to the medical school’s curriculum. This includes development, educational research, outcome evaluation and the enhancement of teaching effectiveness.

Jennifer A. Meka, PhD, is responsible for planning and implementing programs that enable faculty and instructional staff to develop their skills as educators.

David A. Milling, MD, has responsibility for the Offices of Student and Academic Affairs, Medical Curriculum and Medical Admissions. He oversees the development, delivery and success of the medical educational program.

Timothy Murphy, MD, oversees strategies that aim to transform the school’s research programs into new or improved treatments for patients.

Nancy H. Nielsen, MD, PhD, is responsible for proactive coordination of health policy communication within the Jacobs School and UB’s other health sciences schools that comprise the university’s Academic Health Center.

John C. Panepinto, PhD, is responsible for oversight of the entire biomedical educational program, including all the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral programs at the Jacobs School.

Roberto Pili, MD, is responsible for building the academic infrastructure for innovative and collaborative cancer research at UB and on the Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus.

Teresa Quattrin, MD, UB Distinguished Professor, works closely with the dean and other senior leaders to promote integrated, collaborative research not only within the medical school and across the health sciences schools, but also with non-health-related schools at UB, outside affiliates and community stakeholders.