Douglas S. Riggs Lecture in Pharmacology

The Riggs Lecture is presented annually by an invited speaker dedicated to pharmacology teaching and mentorship. 

Douglas S. Riggs, a former chair of the Department of Pharmacology (1954-1966), is known for his role in developing innovative and interdisciplinary research and teaching programs, and his commitment to the education of medical students. This lecture honors his devotion to educating medical students, as we invite a renowned pharmacologist with an esteemed record of mentorship and service to students.

Established in 2015, this lecture is supported through the generosity of Gerald Friedman, MD, PhD ’57, professor of gastroenterology at Mount Sinai Hospital, in honor of his mentor, the late Dr. Riggs.

The Douglas S. Riggs Award for Excellence in Pharmacology, honoring medical students with an outstanding academic record in pharmacology coursework and a dedication to research, is awarded each fall.

Invited Riggs Lecturers to Date

2018 Michael Nader, PhD
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Nonhuman Primate Models of Cocaine Abuse: A Personalized Approach to Treatment Involving Brain Imaging, Social Behavior, and Individual Differences
2017 Sara R. Jones, PhD
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Beyond Agonist Replacement: Amphetamine's Reversal
of Cocaine-Induced Dopamine Deficits
2016 Alan Frazer, PhD
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Ketamine and Beyond: Novel Treatments for Major Depressive Disorder
2015 Sam J. Enna, PhD
University of Kansas Medical Center
Challenges in CNS Drug Discovery: Reductionism Versus Empiricism