15 Medical School Awardees Honored for Excellence

Published November 2, 2018

story by bill bruton

Eleven faculty, three emeritus faculty and one staff member from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences were among those honored for notable achievement and service at the 15th annual University at Buffalo Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence


Faculty Honored for Scholarship, Teaching

SUNY Distinguished Ranks

This highest State University of New York rank recognizes exceptional faculty merit and outstanding academic contributions.

Stelios Andreadis.

Stelios Andreadis, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Professor of biomedical engineering

Christopher Cohan.

Christopher S. Cohan, PhD, SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor of pathology and anatomical sciences

Steven Fliesler.

Steven J. Fliesler, PhD, SUNY Distinguished Professor and the Meyer H. Riwchun Endowed Chair Professor and vice chair of opthalmology

Zhen Yan.

Zhen Yan, PhD, SUNY Distinguished Professor of physiology and biophysics

SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

This award honors faculty members who make extraordinary contributions to their fields.

Laurie Read.
Gil Wolfe.

Gil I. Wolfe, MD
UB Distinguished Professor and Irvin and Rosemary Smith Chair of neurology

50 Years of Service to UB

This award recognizes faculty and staff who recently achieved an exceptional milestone: completing 50 years of service to UB.

Perry Hogan.

Perry M. Hogan, PhD
SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor and chair of physiology and biophysics

Leonard A. Katz, MD
Professor emeritus of medicine

Martin E. Plaut, MD
Professor emeritus of medicine

Vijay C. Swamy, PhD
Associate professor emeritus of pharmacology and toxicology

Shari A. Wilson
Office assistant, microbiology and immunology

Jerrold Winter.

UB Exceptional Scholars — Sustained Achievement Award

This honor recognizes unprecedented accomplishment and a distinguishing body of work with enduring importance.

Robert Zivadinov.

UB Exceptional Scholars — Young Investigator Award

This award celebrates a recent superior achievement of an up-and-coming scholar who has earned individual acclaim for his or her work.

Pinaki Sarder.
Jack Tseng.

The Celebration of Faculty and Staff Academic Excellence took place Nov. 1.