John M. Canty Jr.

John M. Canty Jr. will lead the Association of Professors of Cardiology through 2013.

Canty Elected President of Prominent Cardiology Organization

Published December 21, 2012 This content is archived.

Story based on news release by Ellen Goldbaum

John M. Canty Jr., MD, Albert and Elizabeth Rekate Professor and chief of cardiovascular medicine, has been named president of the Association of Professors of Cardiology.

He will lead the APC—the foremost professional organization for division directors of cardiology and cardiovascular medicine at accredited institutions—through 2013.


Decades of Commitment to Cardiovascular Medicine

A faculty member in the Department of Medicine since 1983, Canty focuses on developing bench-to-bedside personalized treatments for heart disease patients. He was an early occupant of the UB Clinical and Translational Science Institute, which supports and strengthens clinical and translational science.

Since his appointment as head of cardiovascular medicine in 2006, Canty has helped advance programs in education, research and clinical care.

He also integrated UB’s cardiology sections at Erie County Medial Center, Kaleida Health and Buffalo Veterans Affairs Medical Center, where he is a staff cardiologist.

Service to Editorial Boards, NIH Committees

Canty was elected a member of the prestigious Association of University Cardiologists in 2003.

He serves on the editorial boards of several major cardiovascular journals and is a fellow of the American College of Cardiology, the American Heart Association and the American College of Physicians.

He has also served on numerous peer review and data safety monitoring committees for the National Institutes of Health.

A member of UBMD, he has been recognized by Best Doctors in America since 1998.

Recognized for Research, Scholarship

Canty received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities in 2010.

A UB medical school graduate, he won the school’s 2005 Stockton Kimball Award in recognition of his academic accomplishments and worldwide renown as an investigator and researcher.