Medical School Faculty, Staff Recognized for Excellence in 2015

Published June 2, 2015 This content is archived.

story by alexandra edelblute

The Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences celebrated scientific achievements, outstanding service and significant teaching contributions during its 2015 Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards event.

Drucy S. Borowitz, MD, received the Stockton Kimball Award for her outstanding scientific achievement and service. She has a “clinical and scholarly passion for the care of patients with cystic fibrosis.”

2015 Stockton Kimball Award

  • Drucy S. Borowitz, MD, clinical professor of pediatrics

Borowitz received the award for her outstanding scientific achievement and service. She has a “clinical and scholarly passion for the care of patients with cystic fibrosis,” noted Suzanne G. Laychock, PhD, senior associate dean for faculty affairs and facilities, who presented the award.

Borowitz is an internationally recognized expert in nutrition and the involvement of the intestine and lung in cystic fibrosis.

For most of her 27-year career at the University at Buffalo, the physician-scientist also directed the Cystic Fibrosis Center at Women and Children’s Hospital of Buffalo.

She has pioneered research using novel agents and dietary supplements to address the challenges her patients face with colonopathy and pulmonary function.

Borowitz will deliver the Stockton Kimball Lecture in 2016.

Dean’s Award

This award recognizes an individual who has provided extraordinary service to the school and has gone above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference.

Wiater, who oversees web marketing for the school's departments and major programs, received it for her “sustained and transforming contribution,” said Michael E. Cain, MD, vice president for health sciences and medical school dean.

“Kathleen and her very dedicated and tirelessly working group of outstanding individuals has — for the last six to seven years — given all of us a true gift: a completely transformed, updated, dynamic, stakeholder-driven website.”

“The website serves as the single most common way the world comes to know about faculty and our school as a whole. Her group epitomizes achievement of excellence in everything they do,” he noted.

John P. Naughton Award

Taylor, who has been with the department for 30 years, is a “quintessential manager, juggling disparate wants and needs, policies and requirements with cheerful aplomb and quiet competence,” said Cain.

“She is goal directed and independent, getting done what needs doing according to her strong work ethic, job mastery, and timely, efficient, reliable and competent management skills.”

“Her leadership and initiative have played a strong role in the advancement of the department over many years in a constant search for improvement,” Cain added.

Named for a former medical school dean, this award recognizes outstanding staff members or volunteers who contribute significantly to the advancement of the medical school and its mission.

Robert S. Berkson, MD, Memorial Award

  • James R. Hereth, MD, clinical instructor of medicine

Hereth’s colleagues know him as a “tireless educator,” said UB Distinguished Professor Anne B. Curtis, MD, Charles and Mary Bauer Professor and chair of medicine, who presented the Berkson award.

One medical student who trained under Hereth reported: “Dr. Hereth was very interested in teaching, which I appreciated. He took the time to give short lectures regarding important critical care topics, which provided me with information I had not received anywhere else. He was an excellent teacher and made me feel like a valued member of the team.”

“He is a wonderful teacher and one of the best attendings I have had in my medical school career,” said another student. “He is very supportive of my learning, he gave me feedback on my presentations, and he helped me improve without making me feel inadequate.”

This award recognizes volunteer faculty members for their patient care and teaching abilities. It is named for a Buffalo internist and medical school alumnus who was actively involved in teaching medical students and residents.

Awards of Excellence for Promoting Inclusion and Cultural Diversity

These awards recognize individuals who work to create a welcoming climate of respect and inclusiveness for all.

Faculty Awards

Griswold “provides comprehensive care to seriously mentally ill adults, particularly within the refugee and immigrant community,” said Margarita L. Dubocovich, PhD, senior associate dean for inclusion and cultural enhancement.

“Her passion for working with the underserved is inspirational to the students and residents she works with.” 

“Olson’s research focused on assessing the health risks of exposure to environmental toxins — in particular, organophosphate pesticides and persistent halogenated aromatic hydrocarbons,” said Dubocovich.

“His work is significant both from a toxicological and public health perspective. He aims to improve workplace- and environmental-health worldwide.”

Staff Award

Marshall is "integral to our mission of creating an inclusive and diverse community within the medical school,” said Dubocovich.

“A staff member in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology and a communications associate in the Office of Inclusion and Cultural Enhancement, Liz has made important contributions to the development of all our inclusion and diversity programs and initiatives that involve undergraduates, medical students, residents, graduate students and faculty.”

Medical Student Awards

  • Dan Kuhr
  • Chris Manschreck
  • Sarina Meikle
  • Nina Paroff
  • Maddie Ryan
  • Kathleen Soltis

Medical Resident Award

Service Awards

50 Years

40 Years

30 Years

Siegel Awardees Also Recognized

Learn More About Our Residency and Fellowship Programs

The University at Buffalo is internationally recognized as a leader in education, research and patient care, with a long history of excellence in medical education that began in 1846. We have achieved this recognition by blending academic excellence, exceptional bedside clinical teaching and thoughtful innovation designed to meet the changing needs of future clinical practitioners.

Our Residency and Fellowship Programs offer physicians-in-training outstanding opportunities to learn from clinicians who are among the best in their fields.