American Academy of Family Physicians President’s Award

This annual award honors a graduating medical student who demonstrates an outstanding commitment to family medicine.


Fourth-year medical student

Deadline for Nomination

February 1



Selection Process

A departmental committee recommends nominees and asks each to submit a personal statement and CV. The committee solicits feedback on the nominees from family medicine faculty and staff.

From this information, the committee recommends a candidate to Harry Metcalf, MD, who selects the recipient from all nominated students.


The Office of Medical Education will notify you by email if you are an award recipient.


If you receive this award, you will be recognized during our annual Honors Convocation.

Contact For More Information

Denise McGuigan, MSEd

Principal Education Specialist

Family Medicine

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, 955 Main Street, Room 6101G, Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 829-2922; Fax: (716) 829-2933


Harry Metcalf, MD

Harry Metcalf, MD ’60, is a past president of the American Academy of Family Physicians. He served as director of medical admissions at UB from 1977 to 1982 and was a longtime clinical professor of family medicine. Throughout his 45 years of practice, he precepted more than 200 medical students and family medicine residents. Many know him as a champion for the Lighthouse Clinic, a free, student-run clinic where he continues to supervise medical students and residents. He established this award in 1988.

Past Recipients

  • Mark Lawler and Mark Pryshlak (2021)
  • Andrew Baumgartner and Steven Foulis (2020)
  • Kailyn Vera Rigby (2019)
  • Patrick Salemme (2019)
  • Megan L. Lesperance (2018)
  • Daryl J. Spak (2018)
  • Jacob Castiglia (2017)
  • Daniel Mueller (2017)
  • Christian Lobo (2016)
  • Brett Kemp (2015)
  • Julie Garchow (2014)
  • Ilya Rabkin (2013)
  • Jennifer Yerke (2012)
  • Allana M. Krolikowski (2011)
  • Tom Campbell (2010)
  • Stephanie Chow (2009)
  • Carla Henke (2008)
  • Marta Canfield (2007)
  • Lynn Learned and Debra Luczkiewicz (2006)