Dr. Charles A. Bauda Award

This annual award goes to a graduating medical student who has demonstrated outstanding performance during the third year of medical school, and who has a sincere interest in specializing in family medicine.


Fourth-year medical student

Deadline for Nomination

February 1



Selection Process

A departmental committee recommends nominees and asks each to submit a personal statement and CV. The committee solicits feedback on the nominees from family medicine faculty and staff.

Based on this information, the committee selects the award recipient.


The Office of Medical Education will notify you by email if you are an award recipient.


If you receive this award, you will be recognized during our annual Honors Convocation.

Contact For More Information

Denise McGuigan, MSEd

Principal Education Specialist

Family Medicine

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, 955 Main Street, Room 6101G, Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 829-2922; Fax: (716) 829-2933

Email: dpalermo@buffalo.edu

Charles A. Bauda, MD

Charles A. Bauda, MD ’42, was a family medicine physician and a member of the medical school’s admissions committee. He served as a dedicated medical school physician during the 1970s, family medicine’s formative years. He established this award in 1976 to encourage medical students to pursue careers in the field.

Past Recipients

  • Sara Diletti-Swenson and Samantha Hassan (2021)
  • Charlene Liao and Tricia Matthew (2020)
  • Adam Kroe (2019)
  • Evelyn Quist (2019)
  • Diva Bomgaars (2018)
  • Sarah-Grace Carbrey (2018)
  • Caroline Brotzki (2017)
  • Daniel Herriquez (2017)
  • Megan Gaugler (2016)
  • Amanda Morrison (2016)
  • Jessica Ono (2015)
  • Yuqi Mao (2014)
  • Brooke Meade (2013)
  • Bryan Sandler (2012)
  • Anthony Saetern (2011)
  • Michael Freitas (2010)
  • Elizabeth Terragnoli (2009)
  • Jennifer Corliss and Rachel Preiser (2008)
  • Dana Schonberg (2007)
  • Jacob Tallman (2006)
  • Jacqueline Julius (2005)