Dr. Mark A. Petrino Award

This annual award recognizes a fourth-year medical student with a solid academic record, strong clinical skills and a demonstrated commitment to family medicine.


Fourth-year medical student

Deadline for Nomination

February 1



Selection Process

A departmental committee recommends nominees and asks each to submit a personal statement and CV. The committee solicits feedback on the nominees from family medicine faculty and staff.

Based on this information, the committee selects the award recipient.


The Office of Medical Education will notify you by email if you are an award recipient.


If you receive this award, you will be recognized during our annual Honors Convocation.

Contact For More Information

Denise McGuigan, MSEd

Principal Education Specialist

Family Medicine

Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, 955 Main Street, Room 6101G, Buffalo, NY 14203

Phone: (716) 829-2922; Fax: (716) 829-2933

Email: dpalermo@buffalo.edu

Mark A. Petrino, MD

Mark A. Petrino, MD, was a respected family physician who practiced on Buffalo’s West Side before his untimely death in a car crash. His family established this award to honor his memory and his commitment to his patients.

Past Recipients

  • Taylor Lindsay (2021)
  • Natasha Borrero (2020)
  • Danielle Dickson (2019)
  • Nicholas A. Pantano (2018)
  • Jordan Katz (2017)
  • Vincent LaSala (2016)
  • Thomas Haroldson (2015)
  • Ruchi Mathur (2014)
  • Benjamin Huang (2013)
  • Christopher Biondolillo (2012)
  • Jonathan Kessler (2011)
  • Tri Dao (2010)
  • Urmi Desai (2009)
  • Matthew Fernaays (2008)
  • Dana Schonberg (2007)
  • Jasmin Ronan (2006)
  • Safina Koreishi (2005)