Scholarships and Awards

The medical school funds a variety of awards to support your professional development and recognize your accomplishments.

  • Award of Excellence for Promoting Inclusion and Cultural Diversity
    This honorary award acknowledges individuals whose actions, example and efforts contribute to a respectful and supportive environment at the university and in the Western New York community.
  • Eugene R. Mindell, MD, and Harold Brody, MD ’61, PhD, Clinical Translational Research Award
    This award recognizes a junior research scientist for the best basic science research that seeks to solve a clinical problem.
  • Evan Calkins, MD, Community Based Research Fellowship
    Provides funding to residents and junior faculty who conduct community-based research or quality improvement projects.
  • Thomas F. Frawley, MD Research Fellowship Award
    Supports medical or surgical residents and new graduates for whom research represents a primary personal interest and passion.

The Patrick Lee Foundation

The Patrick Lee Foundation is a private, family foundation committed to achieving immediate and measurable impact in the areas of education and mental health. Working with the University at Buffalo Department of Psychiatry, it has funded a number of important initiatives. 

The Patrick Lee Scholarship

The Patrick Lee Scholarship is for third- and fourth-year medical students from the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo who are interested in pursuing careers in psychiatry. Students must be from one of the eight counties of Western New York, and will commit to practicing in Western New York for five years after their training.  Up to three scholars from each year will be selected to receive a scholarship for $32,000 per year.  


  1. Each scholarship candidate must have graduated from a high school located within one of the eight counties of Western New York (Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans, and Wyoming). Candidates outside of Western New York may be considered if they have strong ties to Western New York.
  2. Each scholarship recipient must be a U.S. citizen.
  3. Financial need of each scholarship candidate shall be considered when selecting recipients.
  4. Scholarship recipients will sign a pledge to live and work within the eight counties of Western New York for five continuous years following the completion of their residency and any subsequent subspecialty fellowships.

Application Process

Interested medical students should submit their CV and an essay describing why they are pursuing psychiatry and their commitment to practicing in Western New York to the psychiatry assistant to chair.

Assistant to the Chair

Kathy Benz

Assistant to the Chair


ECMC, 462 Grider St., Buffalo, NY 14215

Phone: (716) 898-5945; Fax: (716) 898-4538


Please contact the director of medical student education or the residency program director with any questions.

Director, Medical Student Education

Camp, Charles

Charles Camp, MD

Director of Medical Student Education, Psychiatry; Assistant Professor of Clinical Psychiatry; Medical Director, ECMC Partial Hospitalization Program

462 Grider St Buffalo, NY 14215

Phone: (716) 898-5080; Fax: (716) 898-6232


Program Director

DelRegno, Paula

Paula DelRegno, MD

Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry & Program Director of Residency Training in Psychiatry

University at Buffalo - Psychiatry Erie County Medical Center 462 Grider St. Rm 1184 Buffalo, NY 14215

Phone: (716) 898-4221


Current Patrick Lee Scholarship scholars include:

  • James Thompson III, MD  PGY-4
  • Matthew Castellana, MD PGY-3
  • Justine Forrest, MD PGY-3
  • Austin Milbrand, MD PGY-2
  • Lauren Lucente, MD PGY-2
  • Madison Carlson, MD PGY-1
  • Maxwell Costich, MD PGY-1
  • Kevin Rogers, MD PGY-1
  • Madeline Carver MS4
  • Gary Iacobucci MS4
  • Brandon Mariotti MS4